Thread: 5H40 problems

5H40 problems

Hi everybody. i am new in this form. now i am in serious trouble. i hope some one in this form can help me out. i am working in a caribbean islands and we dont have much air conditioning guys here to help me out.

problem. i installed one used 40 ton water cooled unit and used 5H40 carrier compressor. this compressor i know it is good and i were uisng this compressor last six years with out any problem on other system. but now i am using R22 refrigerant and am getting 35 psi suction pressure and 150 psi discharge pressure. i know this unit is enough refrigerant and i am not feeling heat on the discharge side copper tubing too. . also i have good water flow throught the condensor and evaporator. also saw ice on the comprressor both side. what may causes low suction and low discharge pressure?. do you think it is because of TXV. ( TXV is came with this used unit). what i should do . i am having 82 F ambient temparature . so help me out

thanks

islandcool,it sounds to me like you have too low discharge pressure. i would expect 225 - 250 psi if you have 82 F ambient. i assume you have tower water return around 75 -80 deg. is the water cooled condenser part of a package with that 5H40?best bet is for you to give full log of machine water in and out , liquid line temp and press, suction line temp and press.

what is this feeding AHU DX or chiller? TXV size ?

5H40 on r22 should be 40 tons if memory serves me right. TXV should probably be sized at 26 tons at 100 psi drop across it

good luck

Island,
    You really haven't given us enough information to work with here.
    What kind of unloading are you using for this compressor?
    Internal, external? If external, are the internal ports plugged?

You definately have issues but I doubt it's your refrigerant circuit.
    How do you KNOW you have enough of a charge? Did you measure it?