Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Return air to small , head pressure high

I am a recent graduate of a decent trade school. I graduated other honors, from both the electrical and HVAC/R . I am scratching my head trying to figure out how to combat a high head pressure due to undersized return air without actually changing the return size. Any advice or do I have to bite the bullet.....?

Quote Originally Posted by HVACCory617 View Post
    I am a recent graduate of a decent trade school. I graduated other honors, from both the electrical and HVAC/R . I am scratching my head trying to figure out how to combat a high head pressure due to undersized return air without actually changing the return size. Any advice or do I have to bite the bullet.....?
    You could add a return fan. Not a great option either.

You could add another Return . Depending on how undersized we are talking, but you could run a 10" duct to the master bedroom, add a 12"x12" R/A grill and tie into it. Then tie your 10 inch duct onto your existing R/A plenum at your furnace. You should have room for that on the plenum.

Quote Originally Posted by Acexpresss View Post
    You could add another Return . Depending on how undersized we are talking, but you could run a 10" duct to the master bedroom, add a 12"x12" R/A grill and tie into it. Then tie your 10 inch duct onto your existing R/A plenum at your furnace. You should have room for that on the plenum.
    Now that's a good option. Adds volume of air without much increase to the static pressure.

It should reduce the SP at the inlet, thereby increasing airflow. It's one of my favorite "fixes".

Thank you for the options . I am going to look into this and proceed as necessary . There is enough room to do that and it will help the units to keep from freezing up . I look forward to giving advice as well as receiving it . Thanks again .HVACCory617