Tridium Vykon vs FX40
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 28
  1. #1

    Tridium Vykon vs FX40

    Okay,

    I have used both but not to the extent that I would like. What is everyone's opinion on these. Let er rip.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In the basement.
    Posts
    74
    *I'll be interested in the responses.
    *From what I've read here and on the JCI site, aren't they the same, only different.
    *The same because they are both JACE at heart.
    *Different because the FX40 has the N2 driver plus some added JCI specific stuff.
    *There is so much cool stuff to learn in this jungle called controls.

  3. #3
    Blue Thunder,

    That's exactly why I asked the question -the same but different.

    BTW....why always with the asterisks?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In the basement.
    Posts
    74
    *They're flowers and I like flowers.
    *Flowers represent love. More love, less hate.

  5. #5
    Okay....now my stomach's outtacontrol

    But flowers are better than guns right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by outtacontrol View Post
    But flowers are better than guns right?
    I've used Tridium since 2001, and have liked it every step of the way. I've never touched an FX40 though, so I don't really have any thoughts on it.

    The picture below is my opinion on your statement above though:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueThunder View Post
    *They're flowers and I like flowers.
    *Flowers represent love. More love, less hate.
    I thought BigBlue still had drug tests for their applicants?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    FX40'S come with a ton of suff loaded on them that no one will ever, ever need, they are stuck in past, I.E. 3.0.99, so all the patches that any other tridium vendor has, JCI does not...

    Jace 6, nothing but anymore, good bye 40 !!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_Worthingt View Post
    FX40'S come with a ton of suff loaded on them that no one will ever, ever need, they are stuck in past, I.E. 3.0.99, so all the patches that any other tridium vendor has, JCI does not...

    Jace 6, nothing but anymore, good bye 40 !!!!!

    What stuff won't I need? Can I delete it? What is the JACE6?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    The kabiliion graphics it comes with loaded on Your Jace, all the drivers you don't need N2, bachnet, Lon, etc. All there Nav files, etc, etc, etc.

    A ton of that BS, if you delete, no more worky !!!!

    The Jace from wherever else you put on what you need conserving resources in the process.

    Why have it, if it slows things down and limits your capacity ???

    AND,,,, did I mention they are still in the 3.0 series ???? behind the times, period......

    Just why go there???

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    336
    Quote Originally Posted by tuncos View Post
    I've used Tridium since 2001, and have liked it every step of the way. I've never touched an FX40 though, so I don't really have any thoughts on it.

    The picture below is my opinion on your statement above though:
    The Bees are on Strike:

    Less Flowers.
    More Honey.
    gnomethang
    _______________________________________________
    "Once men turned their thinking over to machines in the hope that this would set them free. But that only permitted other men with machines to enslave them."
    - The Reverend Mother Gaius Helen Mohiam

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    OMG,,,, go to Niagara's site. There they have the documentation of all the bugs in the version JCI is stuck with and how everyone else has moved on to bigger and better things......

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_Worthingt View Post
    The kabiliion graphics it comes with loaded on Your Jace, all the drivers you don't need N2, bachnet, Lon, etc. All there Nav files, etc, etc, etc.

    A ton of that BS, if you delete, no more worky !!!!

    The Jace from wherever else you put on what you need conserving resources in the process.

    Why have it, if it slows things down and limits your capacity ???

    AND,,,, did I mention they are still in the 3.0 series ???? behind the times, period......

    Just why go there???
    It's very true that there is alot of extras that aren't in a regular JACE. But it's not technically just a JACE, it's an appliance, which by definition, has alot of extra stuff for cookie-cutter application.

    I just delete the system graphics, link folder,.... since all I really needed was the N2 capability.

    I heard yesterday from a distributor that the soon coming release will be 3.2.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event