Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Excessive Fan Noise & Vibration - Burnham Independence PV Steam Boiler

I am a semi-retired mechanical engineer and a former commercial & industrial boiler consultant. I am currently dealing with a residential client in a very difficult situation and I need your help.

My client owns the bottom floor of a 3-story condo. Each floor has it's own gas-fired steam boiler located in the basement. Recently, one of the owners of an upper floor condo installed a Burnham Independence PV steam boiler right below my client's bedroom. The boiler was very poorly installed, is extremely noisy and I was called in to investigate and facilitate discussions between the parties on how best to address the excessive noise and vibration. While it initially looked like a horribly sloppy 3" special vent pipe installation was causing all the noise and vibration, that problem has been addressed and it now appears that boiler's induced draft fan is really the true noise and vibration generator. The poorly installed vent pipe was just amplifying, transmitting and disguising the real noise source.

Other than replacing the brand new induced draft fan with another identical one, is there any adjustment, fix or modification that can be done to alleviate the inducted draft fan noise on this particular Burnham unit? The owner of the boiler is loath to spend another penny on an already costly investment... especially given the terrible, sloppy work by her installer... but the fan noise is still unbearable in the ground floor condo. Any help or advice here to point me in the right direction on a permanent fix would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Dougster
    Last edited by Dougster; 02-26-2007 at 03:03 PM.

You should contact Glenn Stanton - Burnham - manager of training. www.burnham.com
    Last edited by Moose; 02-26-2007 at 04:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Moose View Post
    You should contact Glenn Stanton - Burnham - manager of training. www.burnham.com