Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: York 80 furnace

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    York 80 furnace

    I have a York 80 home heating system thats 6 years old. This year I've had a nonstop problem with the unit. When the thermostat calls for heat, the pressure switch goes on and the ignitor lights for about 8 - 15 seconds but the flames don't go on. Initially I was told that it was a flame sensor problem. So the tech replaced it and told me that all was fine. He told me that in the future, if this occurs again, just remove the flame sensor, clean off the metal prong with a soft steel wool and put it back. This was back in January. Every other day since January, I've had to remove the flame sensor, clean it and pur it back so that the unit's flames will go on. Could anyone give me their thoughts on this problem. Could this be a control board problem. The furnace is located on the second floor of a 3 story house on ceramic floors.
    Last edited by Pagan427; 02-27-2007 at 06:50 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    74

    does the furnace have a good ground?

    does the furnace have a good ground? Where in your house is this furance located - on the second floor, on a wooden floor? Or is it in the basement, siting on concrete floor?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    Help for my York 80 furnace

    ..
    Last edited by Pagan427; 02-27-2007 at 06:51 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    74

    just for an experiment....

    just for an experiment, run a separate ground wire to the furnace temporarily. Could be the culprit. Run it to a known solid ground ... copper plumbing pipe, etc.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    va
    Posts
    23
    in addition it may be worthy to check the wire from the flame sensor and the connections.

    vaughn

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Outside Houston, TX
    Posts
    40
    Don't think its flame sensor related if descricption in post is accurate (ignitor activates, no flame). Could be board related, could be several things. You need to get the contractor back out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    Maybe you need to find a good contractor.


    Hint* Don't hire the cheapest contractor.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,741
    You need another service tech.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event