Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    614

    supco hard start kits

    I don't know the exact part numbers but supco makes these little hard start kits 1/4-1/3 hp and 1/2hp. power your 110 vac through the 2 blacks and common is black start is white and run is red. for small reach in compressors. ive used them for years works good but recently the last 2 that I used was the 1/4-1/3 hp for a 1/3 hp compressor. compressor is amping within compressors name plate rla. but overload in hard start kit still overloads after running for about 5 mins monitor amps they don't spike up or nothing odd like that, no my voltage doesn't drop out of no where. I feel since its a 1/4 - 1/3 and its a 1/3rd hp comp. its on the high end and the overload is not strong enough. ive bypassed overload in the kit to make sure compressor runs good and it does. I think these things should have an amp rating along with hp rating. im going to find a supco tech support number and call ato find out whats the rla max for these start kits but im wondering if others run into this issue or do they know the answer to my question??????????????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,276
    What you are looking for is a RCO210. It is good for 1/2 horsepower or 13.3 RLA. What you have in there now sounds like a RCO410, which is rated for 7.5 amps. You can find this info on page 58 of Supco's catalog.

    http://www.supco.com/images/pdfs/200...0for%20Web.pdf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Posts
    427
    Why are you calling this a hard start kit? Isn't this part simply a replacement for the OE start kit? I thought a hard start kit would add a start cap into the circuit along with the OE parts.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    1,147
    Start cap is built into it... I believe.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo,BC, Canada!
    Posts
    346
    I had this same problem yesterday with a 1/3 hp supco 3 in one start kit. I narrowed the problem down to the ambient temp around the condensing unit being too high.. 95 f .. Got the space temp down to 75 and wouldn't you know the unit works fine now..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    In a Mess
    Posts
    1,008
    imagine that!
    Sig removed by mod. G-Rated site

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    fort walton beach fl.
    Posts
    790
    Was that 1/3hp compressor a AEA440YXA? I had contacted supco before about this model number compressor and using the 1/4 to 1/3 3 in 1. They told me to use the 1/2hp 3 in1 for that compressor. Been doing it ever since and haven't had any problems.
    http://acfwb.com/

    "The best preparation for good work tomorrow is to do good work today"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    pittsburgh, pa
    Posts
    536
    Had same problem. Solution was to stock tecumseh 1/4 and 1/3 hp relays and overloads in vans(aea4440 and 4430 are the most common compressor to run into) and use 3 in 1 until we could get factory start components for other brands/hp compressors.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    614
    I appreciate everyones replies to my post. the compressor I was working on the other day was an AE4440YS yes I typed it right. it was my first time seeing this model the guy at the local supply house kept telling me im wrong lol until I told him to look it up!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    614
    Quote Originally Posted by Capz View Post
    Why are you calling this a hard start kit? Isn't this part simply a replacement for the OE start kit? I thought a hard start kit would add a start cap into the circuit along with the OE parts.
    I guees im used to calling them hard start kits, but yeah they have a start cap built in but that doesn't give me the right to call it a hard start kit because the unit in normal conditions has a start capacitor so yeah I should be calling it a start kit. ima read the package to see the actual name just curious.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Central WA
    Posts
    1,497
    The brand name is 3-in-1, but then Freon is a brand name too. I followed your train of thought with hard-start kit. I suppose you could say self-contained-universal-starting-component-accessory-with-inherent-thermal-overload-protection, but I'll probably stick with 3-in-1.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    In a Mess
    Posts
    1,008

    Cool Nomenclature!!

    Quote Originally Posted by ammoniadog View Post
    What you are looking for is a RCO-210.

    http://www.supco.com/images/pdfs/200...0for%20Web.pdf
    RelayCapacitorOverload-210.

    Sig removed by mod. G-Rated site

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    311
    In my past in the residential appliance world we called that a "dynamite stick" because they were guaranteed to "blow up" your compressor. But that's putting a 1/4 hp kit on like a 1/20th hp compressor. Residential don't have start capacitors, they have run caps sometimes but no starts.

    This could be the start of a great discussion.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event