Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Central Arkansas
    Posts
    60

    using gauges on multipal refrigerants

    This will sound like a nubie question but I am just getting back in refrigeration. I have a set of robimair gauges that only show 12 and 22. I know the temp pressure charts on the gauges won't be correct but Is it ok to use the gauges on other refrigerants? Do you use the same gauges on multiple refrigerants?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    5,659
    yep
    Heating/Cooling Services Inc.
    www.andersonhvacservice.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,947
    Pressure is pressure.

    The gauge doesn't care what it is measuring the pressure of, as long as the pressure is within the range of the gauge.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mechanicsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,096
    Use a valve built into the end of the high side hose to allow you to draw the liquid back into the system before unhooking and purge out the old gas with the new gas each hookup.

    "If perfection is your goal, you may end up with good enough, what might you end up with when good enough is your goal?"
    Wayne Pendergast, efficientcomfort.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Toronto ON
    Posts
    327
    Yeah use whatever gauges but for 12 and 22 gauges if you use them on something like 410 with high pressure it could max out your low side depending how high it goes so you should be careful about that. There's a cool app for smart phones to tell you whatever temp your pressure would convert to for the main refrigerants in use, it's called 'Blitzer' and it's free. Highly recommend downloading it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Apprenticanic View Post
    Yeah use whatever gauges but for 12 and 22 gauges if you use them on something like 410 with high pressure it could max out your low side depending how high it goes so you should be careful about that. There's a cool app for smart phones to tell you whatever temp your pressure would convert to for the main refrigerants in use, it's called 'Blitzer' and it's free. Highly recommend downloading it.
    Is that on IPHONE app store just checked could not find, or is it android only?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    NC Foothills
    Posts
    67
    Just make sure you don't mix oils and you'll be fine. I always bleed my gauges off after using them and purge them with nitrogen before using them on a system with a different gas.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,947
    Quote Originally Posted by garychance View Post
    Is that on IPHONE app store just checked could not find, or is it android only?
    Try searching for "Bitzer" I have it on iOS and Android.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,947
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Soul View Post
    Just make sure you don't mix oils and you'll be fine. I always bleed my gauges off after using them and purge them with nitrogen before using them on a system with a different gas.
    Even mixing oils isn't nearly the issue that it has been made out by some to be.

    The amount of oil that would be transferred by normal service practices is so small as to be insignificant.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    82

    Cool

    i

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    82
    Agreed.
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Even mixing oils isn't nearly the issue that it has been made out by some to be.

    The amount of oil that would be transferred by normal service practices is so small as to be insignificant.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Try searching for "Bitzer" I have it on iOS and Android.
    I was searching blitzer, thats why i could not find it, Its a pretty cool app! Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Toronto ON
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by garychance View Post
    I was searching blitzer, thats why i could not find it, Its a pretty cool app! Thanks!
    Oops, sorry man, i meant to type 'Bitzer' . Yeah the app comes in handy for sure. And yeah I'm never too concerned about the whole different oil in the hoses deal. .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event