Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Best book to read for someone in HVAC SALES

Hey everyone
    I am new to the HVAC world. The most knowledge I have is what I learned in the process of purchasing a new system for my own home. I recently got offered a position in HVAC sales with a local small business. I am interested in your recommendations for a book to help me learn the basics, and not so much the technical aspects, of HVAC. Some technical stuff is fine but I will never be installing or troubleshooting beyond just speculation. I'm picking up Modern Refrigeration and A/C today to check out. Is there anything else you would recommend?

Sharpen your closing skills that's where the money is.
    My name is TooCoolforschool and I am a chronic over charger.

I hope for you and your customers sake they put you in a truck to help with installs so you have a clue what your looking at and can see what needs to be fixed, not just price replacing boxes.

The sales lady is willing to ask questions but not willing to awnser them I think here tenure in hvac sales will be short, but she can still prove me wrong at this point by typing some sort of responses.

Lets turn this around...

How about if the 'sales person' (man or lady) were BUYING a system for their home... what would they look for to get the better (or best) value for their $$$?

Learn that... and the aspiring sales-person may succeed in a technical world.

Seriously... I am not being tacky... rather suggesting something:
    If someone were in my home and trying to 'hustle a sale'... this would tell me the boss of that co cares more about $$$ than my needs. Trust just went out the door... and the sales person (male or female) would be asked to follow trust... VALUE is what most of us believe HO's want... learn what is true value for the customer and I suspect you (the OP = original poster) will probably succeed.