Confused Ice on Outside unit

Sorry if I am not using professional terms. I am just starting to learn about HVAC, by learning about my home unit first. The unit outside of my home has ice on it. I have 2 friends who have received their license but giving me different answers. 1 said that it is due to low freon. There might be a leak somewhere. So, I told my cousin to come and fill the freon, but he said that freon cannot be measured when the temperature is cold outside. I live in Charleston, SC and the weather is around 50-65 degress. Is that true? Please help!!

Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, and Califormia

Red face

More info. Is it a heat pump or straight ac ? If straight ac... yes that could be true. Most charging charts do not allow for low ambient operation (barring commercial, or systems equipped with low ambient controls). If it's a heat pump there are more likely causes for freeze up. You didn't mention how long they have had licenses. I'd call an established company for service. For too many years the solution to everything was "add freon". This is the last thing that should be done. If it is indeed low, you have a leak or it was never charged properly to begin with. Adding "freon" without knowing the root cause of your problem will lead to much bigger problems.
    "Surprised ?! If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn't be more surprised."
    Clark Griswold

Icing on outside coils of a heat pump is a common, normal condition. Assuming that your filter and outside coil is clean, icing usually is part of the normal operation. When the outside humidity is up, and the temperature of the outside coil is below the dew point, frost and ice will form on the coils. It is more common in weather that is not too cold, and humidity is high (damp weather).