Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1

    AC Tech Says My AC is Overamping

    Morning. I am new to this forum and I need some advice. I have a 3 ton Trane XE 1000 (10 SEER) that is 11 years old. Had our tech come out for semi annual check up and he tells me that the outside AC (we have a split system with gas furnace) is pulling 11 amps and that is should only be 7.5. He says that this will be a problem when the unit is under a summer load and that it will fail. The weather on the day of his visit was in the low to mid 70s. Consequently, I started the process of pricing new units, but I am not 100% sure that I need one now. Any and all input will be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,624
    the max run load amps on a trane 3 ton xe 1000 is way more than 7.5 . also a worn contactor or weak run cap can cause high amp draw . there is a tag on the side of the outdoor unit that shows the electrical data have you looked at it
    We really need change now

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    4,842
    I wouldn't jump the gun or pull the trigger on a new unit yet. Did he go over the unit and entire system throughly? Check all electrical connections in the unit, the disconnect and the breaker panel? Check the condition of the contactor, test the capacitor? Clean the outdoor coil, check the indoor coil, clean and or replace the air filter? Check super heat and subcool? There are reasons a unit can draw more amps than it should normally, if it was really even doing that. How has the unit checked out in the past? Have you been having problems with the unit or your household electrical system? Was he checking amp draw on just the compressor or the entire condenser? Identify the actual problem first, then formulate a course of action.
    A good HVAC tech knows how, an educated HVAC tech knows why!

    DEM


  4. #4
    Thanks for the replies. Obviously, I am a typical consumer with no technical knowledge of HVAC. We have used the same company for years, even though we never see the same tech twice. As usual, I have no real idea of what he actually did or didn't do, I have to just trust things were done appropriately...which is an uncomfortable position to be in. I looked at the plate on the side of the unit and it says that the RLA should be 19.3. We have had no problems whatsoever with this unit. I change the air filter regularly; beyond that, I have relied on the annual AC checkups.

    What else can I tell you that will help you?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    6,784
    You could call the company back and ask the service manager to explain what they found and possibly come take another look.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    If your unit is a TTR036, the compressor is pulling less than half of its rated run load amps(RLA).

    If it is a TTR036D, with a scroll compressor, the rated RLA is 19.3A
    Name:  ttro36drla.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  69.5 KB

    If it is a TTR036C, with a reciprocating compressor, the rated RLA is 16.2A
    Name:  ttr036crla.jpg
Views: 195
Size:  70.2 KB

    The RLA may be slightly different if it is a TWR036 heat pump, but not substantially.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St Paul, minnesota
    Posts
    1,168
    Quote Originally Posted by dmarkturner View Post
    Thanks for the replies. Obviously, I am a typical consumer with no technical knowledge of HVAC. We have used the same company for years, even though we never see the same tech twice. As usual, I have no real idea of what he actually did or didn't do, I have to just trust things were done appropriately...which is an uncomfortable position to be in. I looked at the plate on the side of the unit and it says that the RLA should be 19.3. We have had no problems whatsoever with this unit. I change the air filter regularly; beyond that, I have relied on the annual AC checkups.

    What else can I tell you that will help you?
    time to get 2nd opinion from different company. if you don't want to do that and
    if you want to stay with the same company I'd recommend calling and talking to the service manager and get an explanation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by dmarkturner View Post

    What else can I tell you that will help you?
    That you will be requesting a different tech or a different contractor in the future.

    While the amperage will increase and decrease with the heat load, I don't know how he could determine that it should only be pulling 7.5 amps. Eleven amps is just a bit over half the RLA for this unit and would not so much as raise my eyebrows given low to mid 70's.

    As stated, other factors can cause high amperage.

  9. #9
    The tech told me that the amps should be one half of the rla...is that an accurate statement?

    I agree with a couple of you that I should call the manager and get a more complete explanation as to what was actually done and what the findings were.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by dmarkturner View Post
    The tech told me that the amps should be one half of the rla...is that an accurate statement?

    I agree with a couple of you that I should call the manager and get a more complete explanation as to what was actually done and what the findings were.
    No. And why did he say the amps should be 7.5 which is far less than half the RLA of 19 and change?

    I would call the service manager and see if he would come out himself and explain. And check the electrical components right in front of you; including voltage drops across the disconnect and contactor, data plate voltage v. actual voltage and the strength of the run capacitor. All of which would take less than 10 minutes. You could also see him take the amp reading while he is there - perhaps on a warmer day.

    However you run the risk that the service manager will attempt to save face and double down on a goofy tech.

  11. #11
    hurtinhvac, that is exactly what I am going to do...and if he does double down on a goofy tech, then my next step is to get a second opinion from another company.

    Thanks so much.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,899
    The actual amp draw of the compressor will vary with both the indoor conditions and the outdoor conditions of the time it is being checked. The outdoor temps may have been low and the indoor temp and humidity may have been low when he was checking it.

    Either a new tech, or a selling tech.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    He claimed he'd been "doing this for 22 years"...either a learning disability or he's on commission!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event