Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    23

    No condenstate pump or drain

    New construction. The unit sits in a pan and has a kill switch if the water gets to high. Builder said normally they install a pipe to drain by a window, but since no window was near by they didn't install one. He said it shouldn't be a problem since the unit sits in what is considered conditioned space (attic insulated with spray foam). I thought condensate removal to the outside was a standard thing. Is it not necessarily required? The house already passed inspection.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,768
    Code requires it to either drain out, or have a shut off device if it doesn't have a drain. So it is in compliance since it has a shut off device.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Code requires it to either drain out, or have a shut off device if it doesn't have a drain. So it is in compliance since it has a shut off device.
    Is that for primary condensate removal or for auxiliary / backup? I was under the impression condenstate had to be removed as part of normal operation, but there were options for auxillary / overflow that spilled into the catch pan. I can't imagine code would allow the sealed, unventilated attic space to be used as evap space for water by design.

    I asked the builder for clarification if the "no drain" part was in reference to primary condensate removal or backup / overflow. Thx for the response.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,648
    Surely you must be referring to the secondary, as it absoultely needs a primary drain.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,768
    The primary has to drain out somewhere. Weather to sanitary drain line or just out side. The over flow pan doesn't have to drain out.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,877
    the install meets code ,lazy on the installers part
    We really need change now

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mount Holly, NC
    Posts
    3,509
    what the contractor is talking about is the equipment malfunction overflow pan needs no drain if there is a safety switch connected to the equipment.

    if you look, the a/c coil will indeed have a drain and it will either run along the freon lines, and drain out there, or it will connect to a trapped soil line. if there is no drain connected to the a/c coil, then there is CERTAINLY going to be a problem!!!!
    The TRUE highest cost system is the system not installed properly...
    The three big summer hearththrobs...
    Mel Gibson
    Dwane Johnson
    The A/C repairman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event