Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 23 of 23
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    3,612
    I see nothing wrong w/ that type installation but we are in flex world here.
    No duct strapping required there?

    I see lots of ducts coming apart like that around here. Pretty EZ upsell when you show customer phone pics.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    DFW,TX
    Posts
    2,211
    Quote Originally Posted by precision hvac View Post
    I see nothing wrong w/ that type installation but we are in flex world here.
    No duct strapping required there?

    I see lots of ducts coming apart like that around here. Pretty EZ upsell when you show customer phone pics.
    I am pretty sure that some inspectors might want those hung in our area but just depends son the city..did you go back with all R8? nice AH Install though top notch , well for AS anyway LOL jk )

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    DFW,TX
    Posts
    2,211
    also why no media base or overflow switch ( im guess AS may have something internal but not sure..

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    1,000
    Hey Bubba, guess what? we won that 200 dollar duct install bid....Wooohooo!

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,754
    Nice upgrade!

    What SEER/EER rating did you install?

    And I assume that was R-8 flex?

    Around here, the govt folks would want the duct hung...

    Seems to me, where 'spiders' and 'octopuses' get in trouble is branch runs (including those triangle distribution boxes). If the runs are all home-run (and the right size), they seem to work well.

    Nice job!
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Quote Originally Posted by acguytx View Post
    I am pretty sure that some inspectors might want those hung in our area but just depends son the city..did you go back with all R8? nice AH Install though top notch , well for AS anyway LOL jk )
    Yes, R8 flex.
    The start collars in the plenum are 6-8 inches above the top of the ceiling joists, and every ceiling boot has an elbow, hanging the ducts would have accomplished exactly nothing.
    They are all installed per manufacturers instructions, and in compliance with the IRC.

    I used a ratcheting pipe bender to elbow the lines into the unit, but now looking at the picture, I wish I'd also used it to shape the lines around to clear the electric heat access instead of doing it by hand.


    Quote Originally Posted by acguytx View Post
    also why no media base or overflow switch ( im guess AS may have something internal but not sure..
    The customer doesn't get what they don't want to pay for!
    They didn't want to pay for a media air cleaner, so they didn't get one.
    I never use the equipments internal filter setup because I don't want my customers to have to open a panel where there is a potential to encounter live electrical components, or moving parts, thus the filter base.
    It has the internal condensate switch option installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by ga-hvac-tech View Post
    Nice upgrade!

    What SEER/EER rating did you install?
    Just a 13 SEER heat pump, I forget what its actual rating with the AAM7 air handler is.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    70
    ok please tell me u return is under floor?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,259
    Nope, no return, just a unit on top of a filter box on top of the floor...

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Quote Originally Posted by Ice Man View Post
    ok please tell me u return is under floor?
    It is a closet with a raised platform, the actual floor is about 16 inches below the platform the unit is on.
    The system pulls its return air through wall grills under the double doors to the closet.
    It is an extremely common type of installation in this part of the country, since most homes are slab on grade, with no basement, though this one is the upstairs system of a 2 story house.

    Quote Originally Posted by mason View Post
    Nope, no return, just a unit on top of a filter box on top of the floor...
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    70
    I hang all my flex above any insullation, but I look at this and wonder how in the heck can you hang that unless you raise the plenum. Nice work it's way better than it was before.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event