Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 33
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    565
    I was wondering about that, a service manager that doesn't know the trade hes managing. Good luck.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,098
    Here's what I do, take it or leave it.

    If no history is available on the unit I just recharge it and tell the customer that I put 'x' amount of refrigerant in and that we don't know what the situation is as far as leaks until we have some more info, depending on how long it takes for you to come back(if at all) you now know an approximate leak rate. 3 years, slow leak. 3 months, fast leak. If 3 months add nitro, I go up to 150psi on both 410-a and r-22 but I use DC gauges which go down to tenths and give it a good 30 minute or longer pressure test, depends on if I can run more calls while it sits. I've done 24 hours before. If its barely leaking check schraders and service valves first , found a lot of schraders leaking slowly. If you check the whole system and nothing is showing anything but the evap coil(assuming copper) is looking rough then it's most likely the evap coil.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,101
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post
    15 PSI for a resi gas line? How many leaks do you find versus the one you create? Did you mean 15" WC?
    Sched 40 black pipe is rated to 125 psi.
    Code mandates pressure tests on res. gas lines to be done at a minimum of 15 psi.

    Soo..... What are you talking about?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Lamar, SC
    Posts
    521
    Quote Originally Posted by ch4man View Post
    what leak detector are you using?

    and, your company hired a SERVICE MANAGER that doesnt know anything about HVAC?????????

    what a great idea..............
    I am using a Robinair 16600, and Big Blu soap bubbles. He used to work at the gas company selling fireplaces is what i was told, he is more there for sales than anything else, gets our restock for the vans, sometimes, handles vehicle maintenance, sometimes, if you fuss enough. Been trying to get the oil changed in my van for 7000 miles now...

    I know my detector isn't the best and I would like another one, but we are required to purchase our own tools and barely make a living wage. The only things the company supplies are: van, torch, nitrogen regulator, recovery machine. I am the only person in our company that even owns a vacuum gage.
    "If you've eliminated all other possibilities whatever remains must be the truth."

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    105
    I had an r-22 unit one time that was low. oil all over the place. thought hmm easy find charge it with nitrogen 150 psig then 250 still held. finally 350 and still held. I was stumped until I started moving pipes then I heard the little hiss. found it at the discharge of the compressor after the 90 bend no joints all one tube.. must of been getting hot due to a bad cond fan and then overheated that piece..

  6. #19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,098
    Quote Originally Posted by syndicated View Post
    Sched 40 black pipe is rated to 125 psi.
    Code mandates pressure tests on res. gas lines to be done at a minimum of 15 psi.

    Soo..... What are you talking about?
    We have a municipality that requires us check our gas lines at 60psi!!!

    The other ones require 14-20psi.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    871
    www.bacharach-inc.com/h-10g.htm

    I can find ANY leak with this leak detector at 30 psi. My old boss would buy cheap detectors because he'd bill customers for multiple refills. When I got this I used to take it outside, let it warm up, set it very sensitive, and when I walked into a store I could detect if there was a leak anywhere in the building. NO KIDDING!

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mn the state where absolutey nothing is allowed
    Posts
    1,349
    Quote Originally Posted by jmsmars1 View Post
    I am using a Robinair 16600, and Big Blu soap bubbles. He used to work at the gas company selling fireplaces is what i was told, he is more there for sales than anything else, gets our restock for the vans, sometimes, handles vehicle maintenance, sometimes, if you fuss enough. Been trying to get the oil changed in my van for 7000 miles now...

    I know my detector isn't the best and I would like another one, but we are required to purchase our own tools and barely make a living wage. The only things the company supplies are: van, torch, nitrogen regulator, recovery machine. I am the only person in our company that even owns a vacuum gage.
    i'm sorry..

    you need two new things, but i guess you know that.











    ( if you don't know, you need a h10g and a new job )

    as i said , i'm sorry. i wish you good luck. you obviously care. you deserve a decent company and a decent comany deserves you
    my boss thinks its possible to repeal the laws of physics

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by jmsmars1 View Post
    Prime example today, went on a no cool call this morning, found the unit had about 5 psi of refrigerant left in it, R410a. I added about half a pound of 22 and run the nitrogen in as high as my regulator would let it, 165 psi. I searched for a leak for about an hour and a half and found nothing. went back to the condenser and gauges still said 165. Now after the talk I gave the customer why it was important to do a leak check for $xxx/hour, I had to go back and explain I could not find one, it must be small, recommended injecting dye. So from this I could determine:

    1) Since the machine was practically empty, it must have a leak.
    2) If it held 165 psi nitrogen for 90 minutes without budging, it must not leak at 165 psi
    3) the unit held a 450 micron vacuum for 10 minutes, so based on number one that means nothing.4) To properly check a 410 system for leaks, you have to be able to put at least as much pressure on it as it operates at.

    If it were not for discovering the system empty, I would have said it had no leaks.
    The ability of the unit to hold a vacuum does not guarantee that the unit is tight. Consider that even under a perfect vacuum (30" hg, 0 psia) the greatest pressure differential between inside the system and outside will be about 14.7 psia. This is equal to "0"psig. So using a vacuum for leak checking is equivalent to a leak check using "0" psig pressure. Absolutely agree with using system operating pressure to leak check.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Charleston, Wv.
    Posts
    1,461
    you're automatically assuming a leak....and that's possible. but it is equally possible that someone let the charge out. kids getting high, or pissed off perp.

    I'd bet leak too.....BUT, there is always the chance there isn't one.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    473
    H 10's are what we got on our trucks, things work great, ive had real good results with mine.
    @jmsmars1 i have to agree with ch4man there are definitely companies who provide more than that, my truck had pretty much everything you could think of on it for tools, except basic stuff that i needed for school anyways. truck had recovery device, cylinders, leak detector, vac pump, two nitrogen tanks, torch, regulators, pump sprayers, digi scale, micron gauge,ect ..ect... my boss encourages us to buy certain proprietary tools and I always use the company card , its a write off for him anyways.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,322
    Quote Originally Posted by syndicated View Post
    Sched 40 black pipe is rated to 125 psi.
    Code mandates pressure tests on res. gas lines to be done at a minimum of 15 psi.

    Soo..... What are you talking about?
    Even our local gas co. would look at me as if I was crazy if I dumped even 10 PSI in. They test with lung power or a little bulb pump and straight tube water manometers, 10 " wc, 10 minutes.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,098
    I believe the actual code, but if someone could cite this it would be great, is to test at 3 times the operating pressure, so in residential that would be roughly 21"wc unless otherwise required by your municipality. Haven't worked any where that uses less than 14psi.

    Anybody have info on this?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event