Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    158
    Post Likes

    potential relays

    Are potential relays used on smaller compressors say 1/3 hp and smaller or are they just used on larger compressors?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    1,106
    Post Likes
    Current relays on fractional HP, and potential relays on 3/4 - 1 HP and up.
    Experience is what you have an hour after you need it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5,134
    Post Likes
    I have seen potential relays used on 1/2 and 1/3 hp compressors, but it's rare.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    4,558
    Post Likes
    Seen them on 1/2's Think it was the 240V ones though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    158
    Post Likes
    Now potential relays dont use overloads correct? Just current relays?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    5,243
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by btglow2894 View Post
    Now potential relays dont use overloads correct? Just current relays?
    Internal vs external
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  7. Likes UmmScott liked this post.
  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    158
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by 2sac View Post
    Internal vs external
    External

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5,134
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by btglow2894 View Post
    Now potential relays dont use overloads correct? Just current relays?
    It all depends on the compressor.

    I have seen potential relays used on fractional hp compressors with external overloads.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    1,258
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by btglow2894 View Post
    Now potential relays dont use overloads correct? Just current relays?
    Every compressor has an overload...either internal or external
    Doesn't matter what type of starting relay is used

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,932
    Post Likes
    I have an overload. After 16-18 hrs per day it's about to trip. Lol

  12. Likes UmmScott liked this post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards