Results 1 to 13 of 17

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast
    Posts
    811

    C.S.I. Configuration questions

    Please look at the following pictures

    1)_This is the controller I have ,I use INET 2000,Thanks to this site

    I am now able to connect and dial in ,thank you for your help.

    2)_This is the keypad we have,I am not quite sure what it is called
    How do I add points to this keypad?

    3) This thermostat IS oviously wired correctly,However it appears to be disabled We cannot control the heat in the room,by using this stat.

    I do have an AI point called "room setpoint".

    Any pointers on recognizing and configuring this T-Stat with INET 2000.
    I am familiar with lines,modules and points.

    4) When I disconnect from a controller it prompts me to save the database.
    I can never find the saved database,to work off line.

    When I select the file option it only gives me graphic pages to open.

    Thank you
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    442
    The 1st picture is a TAC model 7718 Process Control Unit (PCU). It is considered a programmable controller and all the database and programming is custom.

    8-Universal Inputs (AI, DI, PI)
    8-Universal Outputs (DO, PWM, AO, Floating)

    On the bottom of it is an expansion board which looks to be a model P8UI8DO but I cannot tell for sure by the picture. That would give you an additional 8 UI and 8 UO for a total of 16 Inputs and 16 Outputs or 32 hardwired I/O Points. There is an RJ11 port for a Hand Held Console, a RS-232 port for a direct connect with a laptop, or you can use that port to connect an external phone modem for remote site dial up.

    The PCU also supports Direct Digital Control (DDC Control Loops)

    The 2nd picture is a TAC model 7728 I/SITE I/O which provides a local operator interface with I/O Points. Yours looks like the baseplate option.

    2-I/STAT Sensors (the 3rd picture)
    12-Universal Inputs (Thermistor, Lini-Temp, DI, 0-5vdc, 0-10vdc, 4-20mA)
    12-Discrete Outputs (11 Triac, and 1 Floating/PWM)
    4-Analog Outputs (0-10vdc)

    The operator interface is known as a ViewCon. It also has an RJ11 for a Hand Held Console, and 2 RS-232 ports.

    The ViewCon is limited mainly for:
    View I/O Point values/status
    Control points (state/value)
    View and acknowledge alarms
    Place points in test or manual
    Modify or override time schedules
    Change setpoints

    The 3rd picture is an I/STAT sensor. It is an “Intelligent” sensor. It will show the point values and let you change parameters.

    The reason it asks you to make a save is I/NET compares the database (DCUxxxx.sav) on your hard drive in I/NET with the database in the controller. If they are different (because you made some change) it will ask if you want to save. When you save it downloads the database in the controller to your computer/laptop.


    All I/NET primary controllers (DCU, PCU, UCI, MCI, LCU) the database resides in the controller not the workstation. They are all capable of operating stand alone. The save file in I/NET on your hard drive is a backup.

    If your save files are old it will take you longer to connect to a controller.

    The only way to work offline is in I/NET Seven. There is a offline database editor. I/NET Max or I/NET 2000 do not have that feature.

    You can find your save files under this path: C:\INET2000\sav (DCUxxxx.sav)

    If your save files are old and you ever need to do a station restore from your computer/laptop you will be restoring the database from your last save. My suggestion is to BACKUP everytime you make a change. Then copy that to a USB thumb drive, CD or even a floppy disk. If I had a penny for every service call due to someone not having a backup I would be very WEALTHY.

    As far as adding points, I never do it through the ViewCon. If the site does not have a Host PC / Operator Workstation then I get my laptop and do a direct connect. I would have to look into whether you can do that through the ViewCon. Maybe someone else on this site might know for sure.

    And FYI CSI (Control Systems International) has been called TAC since about 1999/2000.
    Last edited by twisted pair; 02-15-2007 at 07:13 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast
    Posts
    811
    Great information
    It is hard to obtain info on the older controllers

    Regarding the ViewCon Interface I meant to say,

    Do points automatically appear on the interface if I add them using a laptop?


    Regarding the I/STAT Sensors
    Are the points mapped to the sensor,visible in the I/O point editor ?
    Do they have special labels?

    Does the I/NET 200 PDF give information on configuring them?

    Thank You very much

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    442
    I have not worked on a 7728 I/SITE in a few years, because it is a legacy product. If I remember correctly once the point is added in the controller, you should be able to go to the ViewCon > Point Summaries > F1 All Points and it should be there.

    As far as the I/STAT is concerned it would be helpful if you told me what type of controller it was connected to.

    The I/NET 2000 TCON manuals that load from the CD are not specific to the controllers. Those pdf’s are the Operators Guide and Technical Reference Guide they are really for the Operator Workstation software. Each individual controller has its own TCON manual. If you get me a list of all your controllers I can get you the TCON’s in pdf format. I know you have a 7718, 7728 and I/STAT if you have additional ones tell me what model numbers they are.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast
    Posts
    811
    All we have at most of our sites is

    a 7718, 7728 and I/STAT

    Any literature would be appreciated

    Thank You

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    442

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast
    Posts
    811
    Thank you the literature was very helpful

    We have quite a few clients that are still using this equipment

    TAC offers us very little support on this older equipment

    The clients are very happy with this,because it gives them very little trouble over the last eight years

    Would you know where I can get a copy of

    TCON 113 I/STAT

    Thanks again

  8. #8

    I/Net 2000

    We have recently purchased a company using I/Net 2000 (Rev.1.21). We are in the process of installing a new computer. I have installed Windows NT 2000 as the operator interface and the software is working. We have no manuals to help with this installation. My question is: Is there an upgrade out in the world of the internet that is available without purchasing Rev.2007?

    Is there any manuals on pdf for this software?


    Thanks for the help.

  9. #9

    INET 2000 software

    Does anyone have a copy of this software? My computer crashed and I dont have a copy. My computer guy was able to extract the files of the hard drive, but not the software. I have all the manuals for it, though. Mine ran on WINDOWS 98.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by TanisHack View Post
    Does anyone have a copy of this software? My computer crashed and I dont have a copy. My computer guy was able to extract the files of the hard drive, but not the software. I have all the manuals for it, though. Mine ran on WINDOWS 98.
    I Have a copy of just about any ver of INET you could Ever Dream of.. Still have lots of part, manuals and such for CSI systems as well. Send me your e-mail address so we can see what we can do.

  11. #11

    To Techgeek

    Hello--I am interested in discussing your software! my email is <Not allowed in post>. I look forward to hearing from you. I had INET 2000 v 1.13.

    Tanis
    Last edited by beenthere; 12-04-2009 at 09:29 PM. Reason: Removed email address

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    250
    Cleancondenser,

    Check your baud rate settings for your connection in the modem settings, it sound like your baud rate is too high in the modem setup and that will stop the communication.
    Also make sure of the setting in the modem for max speed is no more than 19200.

    Lontshooter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event