Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 19 of 19
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    790
    You can always replace a cap tube....somehow. I don't believe a cap tube cleaner like the one described would do anything with the waxy coating that most often restricts tubes today?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    3,069
    Sometimes it works. Then some times it doesn't. You can get up to 2000 lbs of pressure, so if you feel lucky.

    Quote Originally Posted by MicahWes View Post
    You can always replace a cap tube....somehow. I don't believe a cap tube cleaner like the one described would do anything with the waxy coating that most often restricts tubes today?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL.
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by MicahWes View Post
    You can always replace a cap tube....somehow. I don't believe a cap tube cleaner like the one described would do anything with the waxy coating that most often restricts tubes today?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2
    That's what the lead wire is for. It comes in various sizes for different cap tube inside diameters. The oil forces the 1/2" long piece of lead through the cap tube under 2000 psi so it scrapes away any wax.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Newnan Ga,
    Posts
    77
    The way I see it f all points to the cap tube replace it. By the time you cut off both ends hook the cleaner to it clear it then clean and weld it back in place.... .. you could have measured out and welded back in the new one.. why spend an extra 45 min trying to clean it?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL.
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by Grayline View Post
    The way I see it f all points to the cap tube replace it. By the time you cut off both ends hook the cleaner to it clear it then clean and weld it back in place.... .. you could have measured out and welded back in the new one.. why spend an extra 45 min trying to clean it?
    You don't cut off the evaporator end. Only the drier end so it saves having to empty out the unit, remove the shelves, fans, shroud, t-stat etc. It just gives you another option.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,347
    turbo airs are not on my list of good manufactures....and talking to their service guy is like going to war.

    and whats up with their dual cap tube assembly ??? one cap tube two different sizes...
    Let's give nukes a chance.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event