Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    27

    "Locked" Tridium AX versus Open AX

    Folks....

    I've heard that some vendors order their Tridium AX "locked" from corporate so others can't program or interface with it, while others (like JCI FX) are "open".

    Is there an easy way to tell by looking at a Jace box if its "locked" or "open".

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    343
    In the license file there will be a line like the one below. This one is from a JCI FX so the value "*" is a wild card and therefore not locked.

    <feature name="brand" accept.station.in="*" accept.station.out="*" accept.wb.out="*" brandId="FacExp" accept.wb.in="*"/>

    The license file can be accessed in the Platform/ License Manager.

    Or from a browser interface the Flie would be accessed in; services/platform services/license platform service

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    889

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    121

    Confused Interesting

    Interesting. I never checked the license on our Schneider TAC "G3" server, but it shows this:

    Code:
    Brand  
      brandId            = TAC  
      accept.station.in  = *  
      accept.station.out = *  
      accept.wb.in       = TAC  
      accept.wb.out      = *
    Does that mean that we are "locked" since accept.wb.in is "TAC" ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Helena, Montana
    Posts
    2,155
    That's exactly what it means. The only Workbench that can access it is a TAC one.
    Don't worry zombies are looking for brains, you're safe...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    384
    I doubt TAC shares that when they are selling the "open" system. Sadly they aren't the only one who practices this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    27
    As always, appreciate your insight here. This is VERY good to know.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    139
    Honeywell WEBS has a open and a closed license but you you have to know about the open and closed license and ask as well as pay more for the open. Once the JACE is bought you have to have the owner ask for the license to be opend for a fee. Trane's SC is nothing but a de-nutted JACE with a point limited license.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event