Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Trane RTAC350

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    56

    Trane RTAC350

    Hi guys,

    Im working on an RTAC350. Before the + was introduced. External OVS.
    I think they evap tubes got bad enough that it washed out the separator. its running 34F glycol in open process.
    For some reason I have no manual control of the slide with Techview. I need to get it unloaded for a while to see if I can get it back. Is there no manual control on it because its a little older or are all the RTACs like that? Do I have to unload it with toggle switches or what. There must be a faster way. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,108
    Pull the wire that goes to the female step loader. It'll never load past 40% RLA, regardless of what the male load/unload is doing.
    "There is no greater inequality than the equal treatment of unequals."

    -Thomas Jefferson

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    tidewater, va
    Posts
    2,138
    may need kestrel view to do that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,310
    Quote Originally Posted by r404a View Post
    may need kestrel view to do that.
    kestrelView won't manually unload compressor also.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    In a mechanical room....
    Posts
    1,888
    You could raise the set point.......
    “It takes courage to grow up and turn out to be who you really are.”

    - E.E. Cummings

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    56
    Raising the set point is the obvious solution. However it has a twin next to it that will compensate.
    Pulling off the solenoid works just fine. It doesn't matter in any case. I wanted to see if I could get the oil back to the separator which didn't work. I have no history on this machine, I just got thrown onto it. I think it actually has no oil. Pulled the charge and its 160# short.
    There is oil everywhere but I was told it was from a previous leak. So i'll leak test, distill what I got and do a few repairs while the charge is out. Thanks for the solenoid tip. I don't know why they left that out of the RTAC program. I think the RTAA has that option. Oh well. Another day at the office.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,310
    Is the oil scavenger line clogged not allowing oil to return? Is there a solenoid in the scavenger line? If so, is it working?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event