Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 36 of 36
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Im bettin' some residue left over from mgf ht ex has worked it's way into the exhaust system.

    Could be some jerk at the factory threw some crap inside ht ex as it was coming down the line.

    Could be the furnace materials themselves could be breaking down after prolonged exposure to condensate,

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,275
    When you clean the port out do you actually remove the material or just shove it back into the inducer motor?

    Strange problem, I can imagine how frustrated you are.

    Does the inducer impeller or housing show any type of wear?

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,764
    don't know if its related but lennox has had this problem on their newer furnaces and they claim it is due to quality of the gas. i found my first one last week. their fix is a teflon insert that they say will stop the problem.

    might want to give rheem tech support a call.......

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    If it were propane I'd agree with that. And to my knowledge nat gas has no "man made" hydrocarbons added to the lines to boast the pressure if it ever lags below transmission level. There is the sulphur content to give the gas a smell however.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    255
    Quote Originally Posted by t527ed View Post
    don't know if its related but lennox has had this problem on their newer furnaces and they claim it is due to quality of the gas. i found my first one last week. their fix is a teflon insert that they say will stop the problem.

    might want to give rheem tech support a call.......
    What is the model number of the furnace that is having the problem? Have you seen any more with the same issue? Is it plugging up the inducer port or somewhere else?
    Thank you.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    255
    I talked to a friend of mine that works on lennox and he said that they have had problems with hoses plugging up, but nothing like this.
    Has anyone else experienced draft inducer ports on Ruud furnaces plugging up?

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,764
    Quote Originally Posted by nashent1 View Post
    What is the model number of the furnace that is having the problem? Have you seen any more with the same issue? Is it plugging up the inducer port or somewhere else?
    Thank you.

    the one i found was a G61, they said in the bulletin it can effect all condensing models. plugged up the pressure switch ports on the left side of the collector box with a white crystal. hoses themselves were clear.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Seattle Area
    Posts
    38
    This is an old thread but anyhow I find this on alot of furnaces especially the newer ones. I have found that a main supplier of the inducer motors places the pressure port directly inline with the inducer wheel inside the housing. There has been a revised placement of a port on a certain model furnace and so far I have not had any calls back yet on any of those units I replaced with revised ones.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    255
    What brand of furnace did you find this problem on?

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Here is what I would do....

    Nevermind, this is not the pro forum.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event