Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    239

    PITOT TUBES.,for static pressure ?

    With A/C season approaching,want to brush up on "air flow" info. Looking at buying some pitot tubes for my vaccum gauge. For convienance of use,are the straight.,or 90 degree bent ones better? Can CFM be calculated anyway with these? Im aware theres 2 different style.,more exspensive one also read velocity. Thanks ahead for any info.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,534
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmicmuffin View Post
    With A/C season approaching,want to brush up on "air flow" info. Looking at buying some pitot tubes for my vaccum gauge. For convienance of use,are the straight.,or 90 degree bent ones better? Can CFM be calculated anyway with these? Im aware theres 2 different style.,more exspensive one also read velocity. Thanks ahead for any info.
    Unless you are doing commercial work, I would stick with the Dwyer A-303 static probes (buy 2 of them), and not a pitot tube.

    You need long straight sections of duct work for the pitot tube to provide accurate results. You still have to do the math from the velocity pressure reading to determine CFM.

    With the A-303 static probes, you will need the manufactures blower charts to determine CFM.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    west burb IL
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmicmuffin View Post
    With A/C season approaching,want to brush up on "air flow" info. Looking at buying some pitot tubes for my vaccum gauge. For convienance of use,are the straight.,or 90 degree bent ones better? Can CFM be calculated anyway with these? Im aware theres 2 different style.,more exspensive one also read velocity. Thanks ahead for any info.
    I think you mean for your manometer, right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    113
    Rundawg, when you say to buy two, is that so you can use a dual-port manometer( I went cheap and bought a single). Cosmicmuffin and I must be on the same page, because I was logging on to ask the same question. John

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,534
    Quote Originally Posted by tinnerjohn View Post
    Rundawg, when you say to buy two, is that so you can use a dual-port manometer( I went cheap and bought a single). Cosmicmuffin and I must be on the same page, because I was logging on to ask the same question. John
    Yes it is the reason.

    It can easily be done with just one, then do the math. I just like to use two of them, and let the manometer do the math.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    239
    Thanks for info,I was hoping the straight static probes were a better choice. Also I did mean manometer,I have a 2 port. Only wish it would read (pascals). Those looking to buy,keep this in mind!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    614
    Why do you want it to read pascals?
    Chaos equals cash$$$

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event