Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Carrier Ivu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340

    Carrier Ivu

    Is there a way to extract equipment files out of Ivu into Application Builder?

    I have a building with an Ivu Plus. There is mostly CC6400's with I/O's. I need to add a setpoint to the graphics and it not a network point, yet. It looks like the only way to do this is create a equipment file with that point included......but I don't see a way of duplicating the existing equipment file.

    Am I going about this wrong? I have only experience with application controllers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    254
    Application builder will allow you to "re-edit" a downloaded "Application Builder" program,
    if it was created with App Builder, but there are some limiting factors. Many of the
    App Builder programs are "pre-engineered" application specific control programs" and
    have limits as to what you can add, delete, or change.

    Do you have the i-vu Tools?

    Do you have a Link, or a UPC on the system that brings in the CCN data tables?
    It sounds like you are running a i-Vu CCN system, which would require that you have at the least, an i-Vu CCN Link
    if you wanted to do some custom i-Vu to CCN points mapping.
    There are several different ways of doing what you want to do, and if you could give me a better
    description of the i-Vu system description, I could point you in the right direction.
    "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit" Aristotle

    Remember to "Pay it Forward"; help out the newer generation of techs, remember someone during our career helped us! ("Pay it Forward" was by someone smarter than me!!)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    Yes I have Ivu tools. The version of app builder is 5.1. I just don't see how you can upload and edit........if that's possible.

    Yes there is a link. The system consists of 7 CC6400's with 2 I/O each, 25 3V VAV controllers, and one chiller on the link's BacNet. They are going into the link to a Ivu Plus.

    Maybe I'm over complicating things. All I want to do is add low occupied setpoint from a CC6400's setpoint table to the graphics. It's setpoint table 12. But that setpoint is not a setup as a Network setpoint and is not mapped.

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    254
    Ok, lets see if I understand;
    You have what appears to be mostly CCN controllers, and someone put a "i-Vu Open Plus 5.1" frontend in to gain access to the CCN controllers?
    If you have a "i-Vu CCN 4.2" frontend installed, with an "i-Vu CCN Link" to connect the CCN buss, and associated controllers, to the
    i-Vu server, than you would want to use the "i-Vu CCN 4.2 Tools" version of "Application Builder".

    If you can clarify which version of Link , and i-Vu server you have, I could actually post a screen capture of how you could
    add another "CCN passive point" into the i-Vu CCN Link, that would make it available to the graphic so that you could
    create a changeable point value.

    If you do have a "i-Vu Open Plus 5.1" server, with a i-Vu Open Link installed, than your options become a bit more involved,
    as the "i-Vu Open Plus 5.1, and the i-Vu Open Link do not directly have access to the CCN buss YET.

    I have added some screen shots showing the difference between the two products.
    Name:  i-Vu Open Plus 5.1 About.png
Views: 700
Size:  51.1 KBName:  i-Vu CCN App Builder 4.2 About.png
Views: 701
Size:  53.4 KBName:  i-Vu CCN Plus 4.2 About.png
Views: 704
Size:  49.6 KBName:  i-Vu CCN Plus CC6400 Stp Map.png
Views: 668
Size:  18.2 KBName:  i-Vu CCN Plus CC6400 Stp Table.png
Views: 718
Size:  53.9 KBName:  i-Vu Open App Builder 5.1 About.png
Views: 727
Size:  48.0 KB

    In the middle of this year Carrier should be releasing a 6.0 version of i-Vu that will be cross-platform compliant;
    i-Vu will be able to work with both BACnet and CCN (and almost all other major BAS protocols) with one i-Vu platform,
    but until then...
    Last edited by dracula; 04-08-2013 at 12:23 PM. Reason: typos caused by worn out keyboard, and typer
    "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit" Aristotle

    Remember to "Pay it Forward"; help out the newer generation of techs, remember someone during our career helped us! ("Pay it Forward" was by someone smarter than me!!)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    It's a I-vu Plus 4.2. I'm not sure exactly what link it has....but I do know that the I-vu standard was replace with a I-vu plus with link to accept the new Bacnet chiller.

    I don't have Application Builder 4.2. I have 5.1 do to another project that we did.

    Name:  Ivu.jpg
Views: 687
Size:  91.5 KBName:  Link.png
Views: 668
Size:  79.6 KB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    254
    Just what I thought. I can almost guess that the Link you have on the site is a i-Vu CCN Link.
    All you would have to do on your network tree is right pick on the "Gateway" and select
    driver properties or modstat, and send a screen capture of the modstat, or the device properties page.

    Also, if you could expand on the "CC6400" node on your tree, post a screen capture, because
    I want to see if the CCN CC6400 tables were imported into the i-Vu CCN Server.

    Once you have posted that, and if it does turn out to be a i-Vu CCN Link, I can post which
    "iVu CCN Application Builder" integration point type to use from the pull down choices.
    Actually, I could email you the actual integration program to download into the link
    for the point you need, as that is not illegal, but I would have to private email that to you.

    If it is not a i-Vu CCN Link, there are still other options.

    As for not having the "i-Vu CCN 4.2 Tools", see if your Carrier rep you work with will give
    you a set, and if not, the package is not expensive to buy. Some Carrier reps do require
    you sign up and attend the class on i-Vu CCN, and you get the tools package with the class,
    just depends on where you are in the country, and how your Carrier rep handles it.
    There is a good reason they ask techs to go to the class, as half trained techs can bestow
    a world of hurt onto a BAS in a hurry, and then blame the manufacturer.

    Sorry I can't send you the software, as it is copyrighted, and that would be illegal, and my
    wife says she will not visit me in jail.

    Anyway, your almost there.

    Dracula
    "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit" Aristotle

    Remember to "Pay it Forward"; help out the newer generation of techs, remember someone during our career helped us! ("Pay it Forward" was by someone smarter than me!!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    I have 4.2 coming.

    As far as the link.......It's a I-Vu Link (CIV-L).

    Name:  IMG957352.jpg
Views: 678
Size:  41.3 KBName:  Gateway.jpg
Views: 676
Size:  95.0 KBName:  Chiller1.jpg
Views: 686
Size:  92.0 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    254
    Excellent! Looks like the tables were scanned in also.

    Here is what the i-Vu CCN 4.2 Application Builder integration program would look like:
    Name:  CCN Link Integration.png
Views: 689
Size:  36.1 KB

    I can email you the actual program if you private email me.
    "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit" Aristotle

    Remember to "Pay it Forward"; help out the newer generation of techs, remember someone during our career helped us! ("Pay it Forward" was by someone smarter than me!!)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    So I'm back at it, again.

    I had to change alot of the programming in a 6400. So I need to remap the points for Ivu. So I discussed getting 4.2 software from our rep. He tells me I should get 6.0, since it's backwards compatible with 4.2.

    So I got the software. I was able to open up the equipment file in Equipmentbuilder. I remapped everything I needed. Saved and tried to upload it to the Ivu. All I get is invalid file.

    Is there a step I'm missing? Am I able to modify 4.2 equipment files with 6.0 and upload them to a Ivu 4.2?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    254
    If I recall correctly, once you have made your ".equipment files" in i-Vu 6.0,
    you can not load them into a i-Vu Link 4.2. ( I think I tried this a while ago and
    it was a "No Go".)

    I will check later today, but you need to install all the latest i-Vu 6.0 module drivers, and
    updates before this will work.

    PS, factory just recently pushed out a i-Vu 6.0 cumulative update so you may
    want to get your server and tools updated with the latest.

    If you want, send me your equipment file, and I can bench test it to see what may be
    bugging it.
    "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit" Aristotle

    Remember to "Pay it Forward"; help out the newer generation of techs, remember someone during our career helped us! ("Pay it Forward" was by someone smarter than me!!)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,340
    Quote Originally Posted by dracula View Post
    If I recall correctly, once you have made your ".equipment files" in i-Vu 6.0,
    you can not load them into a i-Vu Link 4.2. ( I think I tried this a while ago and
    it was a "No Go".)

    I will check later today, but you need to install all the latest i-Vu 6.0 module drivers, and
    updates before this will work.

    PS, factory just recently pushed out a i-Vu 6.0 cumulative update so you may
    want to get your server and tools updated with the latest.

    If you want, send me your equipment file, and I can bench test it to see what may be
    bugging it.
    Are you saying that I can't modified equipment files with 6.0 and dump them into a 4.2 Ivu? Or I can after I get the lastest updates?

    I'm going to pissed if I can't. My rep swore I could modify 4.2 equipment files with 6.0 and then save them as 4.2 files. I don't see how this is possible looking at the software.

    I sent you an email......and thanks again.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    528
    Drac is correct, you will need v4.2 tools. The program was ApplicationBuilder, not EquipmentBuilder. This issue also applies to View Graphics. The tools were shipped with the i-Vu v4.2 if the customer has the original CD's.

    It is not too expensive for the upgrade and can use it on multiple sites. Depending on the site size, it doesn't take that long and is fairly automatic. You do need to verify the v4.2 Server Model, the M945-D cannot be upgraded to v6.0.
    Quote Originally Posted by Qui-Gon Jinn (Star Wars Episode 1)
    "The ablilty to speak does not make you intelligent!"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event