Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 29

Thread: Walk In freezer

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    451

    Walk In freezer

    Do walk in freezers ever not use a defrost timer and/or a means of defrosting the coil. I recently did a startup on an exisiting walk in freezer and did not see time clock anywhere? I popped the side of the evaporator coil where the power was going in and didn't see any electric defrost heaters, fan delay/ defrost termination controls. Just 120v going to the fans.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,509
    Could have hot gas defrost but it will still need a clock. They hide timeclocks in the strangest places sometimes
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,259
    Check out the other end of the evaporator where the piping is. If it's hot gas defrost, there should be a tee after the TXV...among other possible goodies like a check valve, drain pan heater or a HG line if it's a three-pipe system.

    But as 2sac said, it'll still need a timeclock.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    451
    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    790
    Modern freezers with EEV's and hot gas defrost won't have any tees or anything extra, besides maybe a pressure transducer and a thermister, in the unit cooler.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,830
    I had a walk-in a few months ago where the time clock was built into the condensing unit on the roof.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    790
    Most of the Heatcraft and similar condensing units now have a Grasslin in them. I rather like it there.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    451
    Yea, on the condensing unit is where I usually find them. This unit definitly has it hidden somewhere strange .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    790
    Does it have just a controller somewhere? If it does, then it handles defrost.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    3,045
    Years ago there was a laser like light that looked through the coil fins. When the light got blocked that was the signal for it to defrost. I think it was put in with an energy management system.
    I have a customer that has the clocks for the cooler and freezer behind a big mixer in a storage bin. If you sit on the mixer you can work on them ok.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,395
    Quote Originally Posted by northeastbeast View Post
    Do walk in freezers ever not use a defrost timer and/or a means of defrosting the coil. I recently did a startup on an exisiting walk in freezer and did not see time clock anywhere? I popped the side of the evaporator coil where the power was going in and didn't see any electric defrost heaters, fan delay/ defrost termination controls. Just 120v going to the fans.
    OK, I'm confused...

    You did a "start-up" on an existing walk-in? How, exactly does one do this?

    Also, how do you complete a "start-up" without testing and verifying proper defrost operation and termination?


    When I read "start-up" I thought that it could simply have had the wrong evaporator installed. Stranger things have happened, although I would NOT want to be the guy responsible for that particular oopsie.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    790
    I had to start up an existing walk-in last month. It had been shut down for two years. Maybe this is what he means?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    451
    Quote Originally Posted by MicahWes View Post
    I had to start up an existing walk-in last month. It had been shut down for two years. Maybe this is what he means?
    yes that is what i meant.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event