Heat pump not completely thawing

Hi Guys: I have a ICP heat pump that is working ok. but it doesn't defrost the coils completely. The defost cycles are set for every 30 mins. I am getting a band of heavy frost staying around the middle on the outside coil. I have seen this before on other units. is this normal do to heavy work load when the weather is cooler, and the unit doesn't get a break?
    When it goes on defrost. the bottom coil is getting cleaned up , where the defrost termination sensor is.
    Adonis

I'd suspect low refrigerant charge.

i've run into the same problem, and you know what caused it was a low refrigerant charge, i'm a 4th year apprentice and 2 journeymen that have over 8 years experience couldn't figure it out so the boss sent the apprentice and I figured out what it was, weigh the charge out and i'm almost positive you you'll find the charge low...

DITTO low chg

You need to always start at the basics. Check the charge. You also need to check to see if the coil is dirty. Also check to see if the electric heat is being enabled upon defrost cycle. also be sure to check the super heat at the acculamator and not the compressor if you check the charge at the complessor you will flood the acculamator.

Quote Originally Posted by crooned View Post
    You need to always start at the basics. Check the charge. You also need to check to see if the coil is dirty. Also check to see if the electric heat is being enabled upon defrost cycle. also be sure to check the super heat at the acculamator and not the compressor if you check the charge at the complessor you will flood the acculamator.
    has nothing to do with electric heat, or dirty coil

its either low on charge or defrost sensor is not mounted properly

Quote Originally Posted by Airmechanical View Post
    has nothing to do with electric heat, or dirty coil

its either low on charge or defrost sensor is not mounted properly