Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

What's the Most Painful Task you have Day-to-Day doing HVAC Work?

Hello,

Not the usual question probably posted in this sub-forum but I believe this could be beneficial for all the rock-star HVAC contractors and myself.

I currently work in IT but I'm working on a software capstone project for an online college I'm enrolled in. We have to basically find a problem and figure out how we can solve it by using software. The HVAC industry is quite interesting and from viewing a few posts already I can tell that there must be pain points that software could possibly solve. I give a big kuddo's to all of you in this industry because it seems way harder than anything I ever had to put up with in my short IT career.

Would really love any input regarding the questions below and I'll be sure to follow up and keep everyone involved and a part of whatever may or may not result from this convo. So here goes nothing (flame suit on):

Can you walk me through a typical day for you?
    What’s the most painful task you have day-to-day?
    What takes up most of your time?
    What are you currently doing that frustrates you?
    What tasks are you doing that you believe can be made easier or less tedious?

P.S. I emailed quite a few local HVAC companies along with a few calls but not surprisingly I didn't get much of a response. I think because there's no good way of emailing these places without sounding spammy or coming off as a sales call.

Sure il take 2

The most painful task is to deal with people, machines are easy to deal with, people are a pain.

Sorry about that I was really on the fence of which sub-forum to put this under

Driving and putting up with idiots on the road that shouldn't be on the road...unless their run over.
    Behind the ostensible government sits enthroned an invisible government owing no allegiance and acknowledging no responsibility to the people.

Theodore Roosevelt