Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Limit Circuit Fault - 58STA110-22

    I have a carrier model 58sta110-22 furnace in my house. It runs for a few hours and then stops. The blinking light shows either a #13 or #33 error code both of which are limit circuit faults. I have replaced the flame sensor as directed by an HVAC guy and it did not help. The furnace and house are only 3 years old

    He told me if that did not work then replace the circuit board. before i go out and buy a circuit board i was wondering if anyone can verify that is what the problem is.

    I am tired of paying HVAC guys $80 a pop to give me an opnion which then happens to be wrong.(I have nothing against HVAC guys, just dont like throwing away money, Incidently I plan on taking an HVAC class this summer)

    Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by bverde View Post
    I have replaced the flame sensor as directed by an HVAC guy and it did not help.
    He told me if that did not work then replace the circuit board. before i go out and buy a circuit board i was wondering if anyone can verify that is what the problem is.


    Can anyone help me?
    You're kidding right?????? As per site rules, no we cannot help, other than clean/replace your filter!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    5,000 ft
    Posts
    2,190
    Quote Originally Posted by blk View Post
    You're kidding right?????? As per site rules, no we cannot help, other than clean/replace your filter!
    Ditto, however looks like you need to find an informed professional company. Look for someone who advertised NATE techs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,849
    Quote Originally Posted by bverde View Post
    I have replaced the flame sensor as directed by an HVAC guy and it did not help.
    Just for the heck of it call him up and tell him you replaced the flame sensor and now the fire dept. is at your home putting out the furnace it's on fire and ask him what should you do next just to see what he says.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    63
    My FREE advice would be to replace the entire furnace. Then you know you've got the right part.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by bverde View Post
    The blinking light shows either a #13 or #33 error code both of which are limit circuit faults. I have replaced the flame sensor as directed by an HVAC guy and it did not help.(I have nothing against HVAC guys, just dont like throwing away money, Incidently I plan on taking an HVAC class this summer)Can anyone help me?
    a code 13 or 33 well which it, do you think by taking

    hvac class for a summer you will magically turn you into

    a repaiman.First you will need to learn the basics,then

    you will need on the job training, then maybe you can start

    to address your particular problem,you know you can blow

    your house up trying to fix it yourself,face reality and hire a

    proffesional experienced technician



    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Western Suburbs of Philly
    Posts
    430
    Quote Originally Posted by bverde View Post
    I am tired of paying HVAC guys $80 a pop to give me an opnion which then happens to be wrong.(I have nothing against HVAC guys, just dont like throwing away money, Incidently I plan on taking an HVAC class this summer)

    Can anyone help me?
    you could just wait until after the summer to fix it, you can save ANOTHER $80!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    You need an actual professional to check your furnace for you.

    FYI, flame sensors don't need to be replaced unless they become physically damaged. It is just a conductor with an insulator and a mount.
    Most of the time I talk to a fellow technician that regularly replaces flame sensors, I find that they either don't fully understand how the flame rectification circuit works, or they are paid commission and only make money if they sell parts.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    332
    No offense bro, but knocking the HVAC industry won't get you a lot of help on here. Actually I don't really care if you take offense to it or not but,
    if you can't even read the code properly with the friggin directions wrote plainy on the door how to do so, then please stop messing with it.
    Believe none of what you hear and half of what you see.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event