Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Did I over price

Hey guys first post in forum so bare with me. I'm new to the businesses, just out of school and one of the toughest things I have found is pricing jobs to stay competitive but not cutting my throat. Here is what happened.
    I received a call from a local store and was told by the caller that his compressor had went out on his walk-in. I asked if he needed me to come and check the unit but he said he definitely knew the compressor needed to be replaced. Which told me someone else had checked it and he was price checking. He gave me model number of compressor and my supply house priced it at $$$$ but had to be ordered and would be in Monday because of holiday. After a mark-up of parts and factoring refrigerant for 5 ton unit and other supplies I priced the job at $$$$. He said he would let me know. Of course I have not heard from him, so I was wondering if I over- priced the job or was he trying to find someone to do it that day. FYI it was the beer cooler. I know it sounds stupid, but its eating at me. Got to work to make money but can't work for nothing.

Pricing isn't allowed
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 03-30-2013 at 08:08 AM.

You quoted a job with out even seeing it? I know we've all gotten that call though. Personally I try really hard to get on sight to see the issue or just give them some vague idea of a price.

I'd say you're lucky he didn't take you up on that quote. Probably slightly lower than I would have quoted a compressor change out but I live in a different market so who knows.
    "I've got my Gas Mechanics license"
    "Yea, well my 16yr old daughter has her drivers license, doesn't mean she knows how to drive"

That's a fair price IMO
    Heating/Cooling Services Inc.
    www.andersonhvacservice.com

Typically service should not have total material over 25-30% of the job.

You were a little low if i was pricing it. Remember someone will always do it for less.