Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 65
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,671
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
    Get an RSA (digital gauges). You won't regret it. Analogs stray off pressure way too much to be as accurate as you need to be. Testo 550 or 557, SMAN 3or SMAN 4....or that other brand.

    Only problem with DC, by the time you buy a decent manifold, buy the better temp clamp, you've spent more than you might pay for another GOOD brand of RSA.

    Plus the Testo and SMAN have more useful functions than the DC
    An AK-900 with the Dc manifold included is about 3 bills.

    There is no factual basis for this criticism of DC.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,671
    hvac5646,

    to continue to disprove your unfounded allegations.

    At TruTechTools, an SMAN4 is $449.88 plus tax, so let's call it $475 to round numbers.

    Same site, the Dc Ak-900 with manifold and a set of clamp sensor comes up to about $426 pre-tax so maybe $450 after tax.

    Perhaps you should check pricing before you go spouting misinformation.


    As to the "useful features" the DC has a feature that no other RSA has, the bar graph which shows you what is going on in the system in greater detail because of the speed at which it responds (1/4# each 1/4 second on the low side)

    Can your Testos or SMANs do that?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    north georiga
    Posts
    597
    i'd like to know when there will be digitals that use transducers to read pressure, thats when i'm more likely to spend that kind of money

  4. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    hvac5646,

    to continue to disprove your unfounded allegations.

    At TruTechTools, an SMAN4 is $449.88 plus tax, so let's call it $475 to round numbers.

    Same site, the Dc Ak-900 with manifold and a set of clamp sensor comes up to about $426 pre-tax so maybe $450 after tax.

    Perhaps you should check pricing before you go spouting misinformation.

    As to the "useful features" the DC has a feature that no other RSA has, the bar graph which shows you what is going on in the system in greater detail because of the speed at which it responds (1/4# each 1/4 second on the low side)

    Can your Testos or SMANs do that?
    And you should (not just maybe) read my posts more thoroughly (which you have a habit of overlooking key words and thru selective editing always change my meaning) because you failed to include the the part of it that stated to the OP should get a "decent manifold", not the one included in DC.

    Like it or not some guys like the option of evacuating thru a manifold. And most of the replacement manifolds being discussed are four port types:evacuation manifolds. That is going to to make the cost of ownership higher.

    You failed to make a comparison price wise to the 550.

    Bar graph might be useful to you but it means nothing to me.

    My instruments react fast enough to system changes.

  5. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by davidj001 View Post
    i'd like to know when there will be digitals that use transducers to read pressure, thats when i'm more likely to spend that kind of money
    All the digitals use transducers...or were you referring to something else?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,046
    I go through a set of analogs once a year. It's easy to bust up a yj guage then you wonder about accuracy etc. I bought a set of ak900s and if they last me 3 or 4 years it will be about the same costwise but I won't have to worry about accuracy and its easier to check SH and SC bc the sensors are dangling right there off the guage.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    I don't have the AK900, but assuming it is built to a similar standard as Digi-Cool's previous instruments, it is unquestionably the toughest DRSA on the market.

    I've had my Digi-Cool BTD-1000 for about 8 years, and my DRSA-1250 for about 3 years, both work flawlessly.
    My BTD-1000 has survived repeated unreasonable abuse too.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,671
    Quote Originally Posted by davidj001 View Post
    i'd like to know when there will be digitals that use transducers to read pressure, thats when i'm more likely to spend that kind of money
    DC use transducers.

    I believe that all of them do.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,671
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
    And you should (not just maybe) read my posts more thoroughly (which you have a habit of overlooking key words and thru selective editing always change my meaning) because you failed to include the the part of it that stated to the OP should get a "decent manifold", not the one included in DC.

    Like it or not some guys like the option of evacuating thru a manifold. And most of the replacement manifolds being discussed are four port types:evacuation manifolds. That is going to to make the cost of ownership higher.

    You failed to make a comparison price wise to the 550.

    Bar graph might be useful to you but it means nothing to me.

    My instruments react fast enough to system changes.
    Evacuation through a manifold is improper procedure although it is frequently done.


    The 550 is only a 3 port, so you've contradicted yourself on the manifold subject.


    Fast enough, much like good enough, seldom is. Until you've used it, you cannot properly comment on it.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,671
    Quote Originally Posted by jtrammel View Post
    I go through a set of analogs once a year. It's easy to bust up a yj guage then you wonder about accuracy etc. I bought a set of ak900s and if they last me 3 or 4 years it will be about the same costwise but I won't have to worry about accuracy and its easier to check SH and SC bc the sensors are dangling right there off the guage.

    Please do yourself a HUGE favor and don't do this.

    IMO, this is the #1 cause of sensor breakage.

    Remove them and store them between uses.

    I've got sensors that are almost as old as my manifolds and the wires are still intact.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,671
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
    And you should (not just maybe) read my posts more thoroughly (which you have a habit of overlooking key words and thru selective editing always change my meaning) because you failed to include the the part of it that stated to the OP should get a "decent manifold", not the one included in DC.

    Like it or not some guys like the option of evacuating thru a manifold. And most of the replacement manifolds being discussed are four port types:evacuation manifolds. That is going to to make the cost of ownership higher.

    You failed to make a comparison price wise to the 550.

    Bar graph might be useful to you but it means nothing to me.

    My instruments react fast enough to system changes.
    Also, unlike any other manifold, the DC can be fitted to any manifold of the user's choosing.

    With the others, you are stuck with what you're given.

    I've had mine on a large, clumsy 4 port before, too. Didn't like it, so I went back to the good old YJ41. It's another nice feature that no other DRSA has

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,046
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Please do yourself a HUGE favor and don't do this.

    IMO, this is the #1 cause of sensor breakage.

    Remove them and store them between uses.

    I've got sensors that are almost as old as my manifolds and the wires are still intact.
    Thanks for the tip, I don't leave them on in the truck but I do screw it on when I get them out of the truck. I was trying to say its more convenient than having to get out your meter, cooper atkins etc., dig up the sensors for it then attach to lines. The sensors are already right there at your gauge.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,748
    I thought the AK-900 was under 300

    yep

    http://shop.rdholder.com/Digi-Cool-A...Cool-AK900.htm
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event