Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    45

    Amana HP cycles too frequently

    My three year old Amana 18 SEER with a two stage compressor HP during a heating phase cycles on & off frequently. I noticed in the morning when the outside temp is in the 40's, the thermostat (White-Rogers Humidity Control Touchscreen Thermostat) indicates "system on + 2" which means both compressor stages are on. The air handler blows air at room temp and the outside condenser unit cycles on for 10 -20 seconds every few minutes.

    I'm concerned that this isn't normal. My AC Tech said the thermostat should be replaced. I've already replaced the cooling fan on the condenser after it failed last fall. Whether this cycling contributed to having to replace it, I don't know. I'm concerned that the contactor is next to go.

    Is this normal? Any ideas?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,299
    Sounds like a pressure switch shutting it down. How's your air filter?

    Sent from my HTC VLE_U using Tapatalk 2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    45
    Air filter was replaced a few months ago. I replace it every year.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,299
    If the stat is saying system on but the system isn't on, I'd still say a pressure switch, high or low, is taking it off. We had a Goodman HP doing identical. The competition wanted to change the defrost board for an outrageous amount, our tech pulled a plugged filter that was causing the high pressure switch to open.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    45
    Would this affect the cooling cycle as well? Since we are heading for spring and need the HP to cool, I don't want the same problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,884
    Replaced filter a few months ago tells me that it may need to be replaced again. The expensive ones are very restrictive anyway and I rarely see them get the 90 days or whatever they claim.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,299
    Only heat mode, in cool mode the plugged filter might cause a freezeup or if horribly plugged, trip the low pressure switch. Take the filter out and see if it stays running.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    West Monroe, LA
    Posts
    1,535
    Quote Originally Posted by DanA View Post
    Air filter was replaced a few months ago. I replace it every year.
    What type of filter do you have? Standard 1" pleated or poly? Or do you have a 5" media filter? Changing it out once a year? Are you sure it's not dirty? Also when you replaced
    It did you use the same style filter that came our (pleated or poly)?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    45
    It's a 5" media filter that came with the system. I change it once a year using the same style filter. BTW, a static test was done last month and it was, according to the technician, only slightly above the accepted level as noted on the AH.

    Perhaps its normal in this system to have the AH run constantly and the outside condenser cycle on & off just to maintain the heat needed to keep temp at a steady level.

    Does that make sense?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    Is this unit matched with an Amana Air handler or furnace? Unless the ductwork or filter is extremely restricted, the VS blower should maintain airflow.

    A heat pump will run almost constantly in cooler weather depending on your location and if it was sized correctly. In most cases, by 40F it should be running almost continously in 1st stage and unless your in a warm climate, it shouldn't yet need 2nd stage.

    SOunds like something else is going on. I'm not convinced form the info yoru given that it's even delviering it's rated capacity. Could be charged wrong, filter dryer plugged, bad expansion valve. (FYI all 3 are typically installation related issues)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,299
    If the stat says system on, the compressor should be on. If not, there's a problem

    Sent from my HTC VLE_U using Tapatalk 2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    45
    It is a matched system. No furnace. I live in Florida. Lately we've had cold, by our standards, weather in the low 40's at night. Just checked it. It shows "Heat Pump" "System on" with only the AH running. The outside condenser is not running. Thermostst perhaps??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    4,843
    The outside unit cycling every 10-20 seconds IS a problem. Call for service.
    A good HVAC tech knows how, an educated HVAC tech knows why!

    DEM


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event