Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello everyone

Hello everyone

I'm new to the HVAC industry, decided to try something different after retiring from the navy and I hope to learn from everyone's experience on here.
    Thanks in advance.

Hello everyone

Welcome. Get your post count up and apply for a Pro membership!

Welcome, from an ex-navy guy. 1979-1985. USS Mississippi. CGN-40.

Thanks Brent, I'm sure with all the questions I got it should take very long at all.

Thanks Nuclrchiller, I saw you ship some time ago in the boneyard in washington state. The nuc cruisers were a short lived program.

I saw a picture of that on the net a few years ago. It was only a floating hull from the main deck down, no superstructure at all. I understand that it was later scrapped. I searched on google maps and bing maps, and came up empty. Man, that's just sad! That was my home for four years. Slept there every night except for being on leave. And it's not just my ship. I went to bootcamp in San Diego (closed down), Navy Nuclear Power School in Orlando, FL ( base closed down, school moved), and Nuclear Prototype Training Unit in Idaho Falls, Id (training closed down, site currently used for low level waste storage). Suddenly I'm feeling a little older! So I take it you were stationed there?

I was stationed on the USS SIDES out of San Diego and we took it there after her decommissioning. Yeah the old NTC San Diego was high end houses and some military housing last time I was out that way.

I forgot to mention that even my my rating (or is that "rate"?) no longer exists. IC man, or Interior Communications Electrician. It was originally split out of the Electrician's Mate (EM) rating in, I think, the 1950's. It has since been combined back into EM. Or so I've heard. What was your rating? And what part of this industry are you in?

Quote Originally Posted by Nuclrchiller View Post
    Welcome, from an ex-navy guy. 1979-1985. USS Mississippi. CGN-40.