Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newer Controllers on N2 Bus Wiring

Hi, I'm an HVAC engineer working on putting together specs for a building automated controls overhaul for a 7 story office building. The goal is to switch out old N2 controllers with newer controllers but still use the N2 bus wiring ran throughout the whole building.

I have scoured the internet looking for technical specs about the actual, physical wiring that makes up an N2 bus and how that differs from other control systems wiring without much luck. I also fear I am misusing the term "N2 bus", my understanding of the term is that it refers to pretty much everything in the control system; the front end, the controllers and the wiring and all the gear in between. So my question is can other manufacturer's put their own controllers on the existing equipment and utilize the existing N2 bus wiring for the new BAS. And if that's not possible, what is it about the existing N2 wiring that prevents it?

Thanks so much!

JCI was pretty loose on the wire spec. N2 info is on their site.

http://cgproducts.johnsoncontrols.com

Document:
    Metasys Network Technical Manual 636
    Network Communications Section
    Technical Bulletin
    Issue Date 1199

Tip Search: N2

Suggest you look at what wire is in the building in question. N2 works over an RS485 serial connection. 9600 baud was pretty forgiving compared to newer faster networks.

Great, thanks for the info, quite helpful.

The first Controls class I went to back in 98 said to NEVER reuse trunk wiring. The potential problems with comm can create havoc on a job. Just a little tidbit I remember.
    Don't worry zombies are looking for brains, you're safe...

Quote Originally Posted by bhollon View Post