Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    11

    Swapping r-22 for r-12

    One of my walk in boxes still uses r-12 gas. I run the box at about 37 degrees F. It has the condensing unit on top and is indoors. The compressor is a Tecumseh #AH7514A. Can I switch to r-22 gas by simply swapping the condensing unit for one that uses r-22 and replacing the expansion valve or is there something else I should consider? Thanks, Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,787
    Look first to a refrigerant that is sustainable over the long term.

    R-22 is in the midst of its own phaseout like R-12 went through 20ish years ago.

    Capacity, overall condition, age and materials compatibility are all factors you need to consider.

    It might be time to replace that equipment rather than just change refrigerants.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Atlanta,GA.
    Posts
    898
    swap the condenser for one that uses r134a or 404a ,make sure that they cross over the model number of yours to the one that uses 134a or 404a

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St Paul, minnesota
    Posts
    1,235
    to use R-22 you would also need to change out the distributor orifice. Better with r134a or 404a as chillerout1 said

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thank you all for the info. I will take your advice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    5,909
    If you’re going to change it change it all. Evaporator, Line set and condensing unit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    149
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 04-13-2013 at 07:45 PM. Reason: non AOP member

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,787
    david chamberla

    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    604
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobby67 View Post
    One of my walk in boxes still uses r-12 gas. I run the box at about 37 degrees F. It has the condensing unit on top and is indoors. The compressor is a Tecumseh #AH7514A. Can I switch to r-22 gas by simply swapping the condensing unit for one that uses r-22 and replacing the expansion valve or is there something else I should consider? Thanks, Bob
    Not sure why everyone has to thump their chest like it's an old "Tarzan" movie (I know it all).
    Have a "Competent Contractor" do a "Drop-In" replacement for R-12.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    butler pa
    Posts
    1,073
    wait till its dying then replace w a new 404a system..but being r12-it may be dying due to age

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    71
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 04-14-2013 at 06:46 PM. Reason: non AOP member

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,787
    Joe m

    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Joplin,Missouri
    Posts
    310
    You could have it changed over to 134A. It would involve recovering the R12 and changing the oil and filter driers evacuating the system and recharging with R134A. But due to the age of R12 systems it may be wise to just upgrade to a new system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event