Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bestway to determine refrigerant levels accurately in residential A/C systems

Hello Guys,

Im new on here and this is my first post. Im looking forward to learning much from you guys.
    Im new in the HVAC field, just about finished with school.

My question :

What is the most reliable way to find out how much refrigerant is in a residential system ?
    I would think recovering the refrigerant and weighing it will obviously be the most accurate. Then you know how short or overcharged the system is, right ?
    My instructor said the only way it should be done is by taking superheat readings
    Can you please advise ?
    Thanks,
    Bob

Quote Originally Posted by Bobe5531 View Post
    Hello Guys,

Im new on here and this is my first post. Im looking forward to learning much from you guys.
    Im new in the HVAC field, just about finished with school.

My question :

What is the most reliable way to find out how much refrigerant is in a residential system ?
    I would think recovering the refrigerant and weighing it will obviously be the most accurate. Then you know how short or overcharged the system is, right ?
    My instructor said the only way it should be done is by taking superheat readings
    Can you please advise ?
    Thanks,
    Bob
    You are correct, weighing in is usually most accurate.
    Superheat alone will not tell you what amount of refrigerant is in the unit.
    Superheat should be used on fixed metering device systems along with other measurements, to ensure the accuracy of the system charge.
    Superheat alone is not going to ensure proper charge.

Are you sure he didn't say that superheat should always be checked to ensure a proper charge?
    That I would agree with.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

X2.

Thanks for the reply. But, doesnt weighing it in ensure a proper charge also ?