Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 32
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    more rheostat info

    So I found the manufacturer of the rheostat, K B. The part number is KBMS-13BV, which is a special build (not available from most KB distributors). I found several distributors for KB products, but one I spoke with today told me that the details of that model is hidden so they can't cross it one of the many others they have. I did find a couple of potential sources, on in IL and another in CA, that might sell them or have the specs so they can cross it to something they stock. I'll let you know what I find, maybe I should buy 20 and stock them for other Quadrafire customers!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    If our RDC has it I could get one in a couple days, but I checked and it is not listed as a "critical" part so the RDC would not normally stock it. Thats means probably 2-3 weeks from quad to get it.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    78
    Sorry to hear you are having a problem finding a replacement. The way I found it was bad was to break open the control and cut the wires to the bypass and then rewired it byppassing the rheostat. That meant that when it was plugged in the fan was running. Obviously this should only be done by a qualified technician who understands circuitry.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    rheostat cont'd

    Ok, so after a little bit of digging and a few phone calls, I found a KB (makers of the rheostat) distributor willing to sell me one (KBMS-13BV) over the phone. I'll be back to hook it up Thursday night. I'm keeping my fingers crossed this will do the trick, I still can't find a source for the sensor...

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    Back in business

    So, the replacement rheostat did the trick and I'm burning again. My dealer has yet to get an answer on when the motor he ordered back at the start of this failure... at this rate he'll have what he needs in about 4.5 weeks!

    Thanks to all for getting me connected to the right people and for searching for parts. Had I not come here and asked for your help, I'd be sitting in the cold still.

    Quadrafire sent me a message telling me that parts take time, a basic "we can't help you, we don't really care" type of email. I'd say they are lucky to have professionals like yourselves out here helping folks out.

    At least I'll end up with a backup set of equipment, so I'll never have to count on the dealer or Quadrafire for replacements. If anyone ever needs a rheostat, I have a couple sources.

    Thanks again for all your help.

  6. #19

    Looking for a rheostat also

    Hello,
    I am looking for a rheostat for a fan on a gas fireplace. It is a KB moodel # KBMS 13BV. Can anyone help me out?

    Thanks

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    Kbms-13bv

    I was able to get those from:

    ALL CONTROL
    847 488 9200

    Purchased via credit card over the phone, showed up the next day.

    Good luck!

  8. #21
    Thanks so much. Everyplace I tried they told me it was only sold with the equipment, or i could send it in for repair??? I really appriciate it.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    Bricks!

    Question for the parts gurus - I'd like to get a set of the fire bricks for my Quadrafire Bodega Bay wood burning insert - one is cracked and I heard it's better to get a whole set than buy one or two at a time. Any sources?

    Thanks!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    which one is cracked? One with a hole or just a normal one? You can get a normal brick from Quad for not too much but if it has a hole its like $40!

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    bricks

    It's one that doesn't have a hole..

    I heard a whole set is around $170 .. could that be right? doesn't seem like it could be if one is $40

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    Sounds right for a full set, the two with the holes are more but the uncut bricks are not quite as expensive. Overall you save a lot getting a full set but if you really only need one normal brick it would cost a lot less.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    bricks bricks and more bricks

    So I'm searching around - as there isn't a dealer locally I can work with, do you know of any sources?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event