Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1

    Trane economizer troubleshooting

    Trane YCD060 operating mechanical cooling @ 25 degrees. Run test mode economizer operated once out of several times

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    1,995
    Check where the economizer's wiring harness plugs into the unit's wiring harness. If the unit doesn't "see" that an economizer is connected, then it operates as though there isn't one, and it sounds like that's what yours is doing most of the time. Bad connection at the plug, or the wires to the plug. Could be loose, dirty, corroded,etc....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    1,995
    There are several people who visit this site who have more experience with this unit than I do, so give them time to chime in too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina Piedmont Area
    Posts
    449
    What is the Model No. and Serial No.

    What type of control do you have. Reliatel or Microtel.

    What is the indoor temperature.
    What is the COOL set point.
    What is return air temperature.
    What is OSA Humidity.
    What is return Humidity.
    What was the position of the economizer.
    What was the Supply air temperature.

    Do you have comparative enthalpy control or just outdoor dry bulb.

    Have you checked the OSA sensor and compared temperature versus resistance and finally voltage drop.

    There are many times when the performance of the sensor has degraded and will not respond correctly. Even a simple 3 degrees off will cause an erratic behavior if the OSA conditions are stable.

    The supply air sensor also should be checked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Woodhaven, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    58
    In test mode it's opening on first test? Yes or no or is this the sometimes?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    78
    I just want to make sure that you know you have to wait approximately 3 minutes after powering up the unit before you start stepping through test. The economizer actuator is calibrating during this time, if you don't wait it will skip over economizer and step through mechanical cooling and heat.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    78
    FYI, it does not matter if you have dry bulb, reference, or comparative. In test mode it will still work and it also ignores all sensors.

  8. #8
    Was not waiting three minutes for test mode, that explains it operating intermittently.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    122
    Supply air sensor is the problem.Get new SAS or pull OAS and use it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    66
    Check out this site for Trane info http://hvac.amickracing.com/RTU%20Tr...%20RTU%20info/

  11. #11
    Replaced both sas & oas. Still running mechanical cooling below 30 degrees

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    78

    0 Degrees

    Quote Originally Posted by Westernpatech View Post
    Replaced both sas & oas. Still running mechanical cooling below 30 degrees
    Voyager and Precedent units are designed to run mechanical cooling to 0 degrees F ambient.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Central New Jersey USA
    Posts
    64
    Trane units will run the economizer-If the economizer does not satisfy the supply air temperature in about 5-10 minutes, it WILL bring on a stage of cooling to try to satisfy the supply temperature demand - it is 55*F I believe. If you have ROVER software and the Tool, you can view the device and REALLY see whats going on. If your economizer is not equiped with barometric relief or power exhaust- your not getting enough air change through the economizer for it to be able to work. Start up the unit from a warm load, Put a temperature probe in the supply duct and see if you are getting 55* F, if you are not, the mechanical cooling IS going to run. Hope this helps.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event