Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: rubbed cap tube

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    606

    rubbed cap tube

    a cap tube for a mclean unit was out of gas capped tube rubbed on suction line. the hole is to big to solder and repair the solder will clogg the cap tube! can i use a 1/4 inch pipe as coupling? whats the best repair. i wish i can cut it then swage the pipe

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3,356
    Best option is to replace the whole cap tube.

    You could cut the cap tube, put in a piece of 1/4" copper tube thats a couple inches long, and pinch the 1/4" tube to each end of the cap tube and braze. I've never done that though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,512
    Replace the cap tube. If it were a pressure control, I'd say go ahead and repair it
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina Piedmont Area
    Posts
    449
    It's recommended to install a new entire cap tube provided by the Manufacture. The diameter and total developed length need to be taken into consideration so that the proper restriction and flow can be obtained.

    Sure for an emergency it would be ok to make a temporary repair as Mike19 indicated.
    Last edited by alcomech; 04-09-2013 at 08:52 PM.
    But I am still learning and looking for a new mentor.
    _______________________
    In a strict sense troubleshooting is not part of the repair..........understand the symptoms and you will find a solution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina Piedmont Area
    Posts
    449
    Posted twice, sorry. How do I remove an unwanted Post?
    But I am still learning and looking for a new mentor.
    _______________________
    In a strict sense troubleshooting is not part of the repair..........understand the symptoms and you will find a solution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    606
    Quote Originally Posted by 2sac View Post
    Replace the cap tube. If it were a pressure control, I'd say go ahead and repair it
    thats what ima do order a new cap tube instead of tinkering with it and being a waste of time. i agree if it was a pressure sensing pipe such as to a pressure control then the type of pipe wont matter much. thanks for all the replies saved me the headache

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,347
    I've done what mike recommended with great results..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    I've repaired with 1/4", with no issues, in the past. I will still do it as a temporary fix while waiting for new cap tube but I won't leave it any more. There are some out there though that have been running that way for years. Best to replace for sure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event