New Furnace in NJ, 100 Year Old Boiler: Advice, Please.

Hello Everyone!

Okay, so I'm a fairweather fan, this is the first day I've been here. But, hey, it's not like I'm replacing furnaces every day! In looking around, this looks like a really cool site.

So, here's the deal. Any advice you can offer me would be so appreciated! I'm a total heating noob; please be kind.

I've got a 100 year-old house with a serious boiler in the basement. The home is approximately 2,000 sq. feet). It is the orignal furnace, and was originally COAL! It was changed over to oil. The furnace, actually, it running very well; it purrs like a kitten. However, the pipes are beginning to show thier age, and the system is springing leaks left and right; and since everything is covered in warm/cozy asbestos, well...tt's time to replace her.

So, mainly I'm working with Metro Fuel out of Ridgefield, NJ (good or bad comments, please PM me). They are my oil provider, and they are also one of the Home Depot guys around here.

So, they are suggesting a Peerless ECT furnace, and it seems like it's a pretty heavy-duty piece.

So, what the questions I'm asking are there:

1. Has anyone had experience with Peerless ECT boilers? Good/Bad?

2. Any shining recommendations for furnace replacement guys in Northern, NJ?

3. What should I be prepared for re: installation, etc.

Anyway, I'm sure stuff will pop up as the hours and days go by, but it's getting close and - while it's kind of exciting - I want to try to do everything I can to make the outcome a happy one.

Thanks So Much!

ezt

ps - You want to see pics of the old boiler, don't you? We'll see.

While I'm at it, I'll also ask this: in the end, isn't oil heat the more effective one? I guess the gas heating question is also coming up, but I feel that oil is the way to stay.

A couple of things

You might wanna try posting this in the hydronics section

HeatingHelp dot com

Give this website a holler and post this message on "The wall"