Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    206

    Package heat pump change out

    Installed a new Comfortmaker package 2.5 ton heat pump on the roof. New unit has a new unit stand, new twist elbow, new disconnect and new sealtight with wiring. Old unit was a GE Trane 2.5 ton package straight ac with strip heat. Old unit was a over and under elbow on roof. Job was a two story condo in Scottsdale, AZ.
    Attached Images Attached Images         

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    565
    i will never understand why they put those on roofs for resi... i guessing you can see all this from the street?

    if its got to be on the roof at least you did it, looks good.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    2,892
    What was it? a 3 hr. job from start to finish? Or two?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,836
    Ooh, shiny! Nice looking work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,109
    Quote Originally Posted by jvillehvac View Post
    i will never understand why they put those on roofs for resi... i guessing you can see all this from the street?

    if its got to be on the roof at least you did it, looks good.
    That is a funny thing that I noticed. Out West people like to put units on the roof. I even worked on a split condenser on a house that was on the roof. Here in the East you never see that. I wonder it there are more copper thieves out West and putting stuff on the roof is safer?
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://icemeister.net/aop_map.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    206
    There are no basements or mechanical closets in the homes out in Phoenix. So the home builders stick everything on the roof. The home builders are moving away from putting equipment on the roof now. Now they are stuffing everything into a under sized attic. From a service stand point. I prefer it on the roof.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,246
    Basements in condos are rare here too except really old ones. Used to be these joints would put a s--tload of splits outside but now that units are getting so big, that's an issue. One place talked to us about an incident where a neighbor replaced a unit and it blocked 1/2 the view out of their neighbor's window! Seems a lot of newer apartments are putting their outdoor units on the roof. No packs, all splits but no longer a hodgepodge on the ground. Looks lots nicer.

    We worked on a condo just built downtown. 10 stories, split HPs. Big honker charge compensators hanging off each unit. Scary!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    115
    In Arizona allot of houses where Swamp coolers from the 70's so when they took off the cooler they placed the condenser or package unit in its place.. access to duct work.. I would not want the noise myself but hey they all seem to follow the first sheep over the cliff..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event