changing from OIL to heat pump system... HELP

Hi, I am new to this, just got this link from FINE HOMEBUILDING magazine, March 2007. The question asked in the magazine is my question exactly! The question: [FONT="Arial Black"]"I have a 2700 sq.ft house heated with an oil furnace. I plan to switch to a heat-pump system, but because of the cost of this system, I want to get some opinions on the best brands to consider." [/FONT]Our house is three floors, basement, middle floor and top and is 2600 sq. ft. The basement will have a small living room, bathroom, two bedrooms and a utility room. middle floor will have a bathroom, kitchen living room and bedroom, top floor will have bathroom and bedroom. We are undergoing this remodel in April. Currently we have a oil burning furnace that is a DINOSAUR and getting anyone in this little remote town to fix it is a joke. We are holding our breath it gets us through the winter. It has broken down twice, costing hundreds of dollars to fix, not to mention the high cost of fuel. We estimate it costs us around 3.00 an hour to run, depending on current diesel prices. So, here's the question. We were told about the heat-cooling electric pump and how cost effective it is over the long haul. It is quite expensive and we want to make sure it is really what we need. We live in an area where there is only propane, no gas. Using this funace would elimate having to have a huge propane tank. PLEASE, can anyone tell me about these furnaces, which brand is good and if this is what will work best in a very cold climate. Our temps in the winter are sub zero in the coldest parts of winter, and summer is nice around 90 degrees. This is mountain weather at it's best. We probably would use the cooler much, only a couple of days during the winter. THOUGHTS are SO appreciated!