Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 44
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    OKLAHOMA
    Posts
    64
    Food for thought!, What happens or would happen in "your" h2o circuit if the direction of WATER flow were reversed????that is to say "cold h2o piped to the outlet and return/line piped to the inlet. .I once had a simulare experience on a closed loop system where Heat pumps were used through-out a 3 story complex.....my predecessor had R & R'ed a unit and had inadvertently crossed the inlet and outlet flexable H2O lines comming to the Xchanger of the unit. With compressor running ...The hot gas went into the cold "water bath" making h2o even warmer then the condensed refrigerant passed thru the warm/and some times hot h2o (depending on the season) .just remembering "IN THE BOTTOM and OUT THE TOP" heat Xchangers...I don't recall the exact symptoms my client had, but I remember "it didn't work so good" "low capacity'' ''tripping on hi head" etc.etc!! LOL

    ''Another One Bites The Dust"
    Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2

  2. #28
    Juice, the whole building has been a closed loop system until recently (within the last year or so). They swapped out the towers and made it an open loop system. To the best of my knowledge, there hasn't been a dirt/debris issue until recently. The debris I cleaned out of the strainers was a slimy buildup, along with some sandy material. The condenser has been acid cleaned, and the only debris that was found appeared to be the same slimy debris that was found in the strainers.

    The water piping is all done correctly, our head pressure control valve works properly and is installed properly. There are so few components in this system that it shouldn't be this difficult to figure out.

  3. #29
    Hey, I dont mean to jump in at the end here, but I was wondering how long it takes for your system to pull into a vacuum?

  4. #30
    Are you referring to when the system is charged and we have the 'pumpdown' symptom, or when the system is empty and I'm pulling a vac prior to charge?

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    28
    If the system has just been recently changed to an open loop system within the last year and if there has been a dirt/debrie issue until just recently it is making me lean more towards a water flow issue/blockage. This may be a stupid question but have you checked the water hoses going into the unit? I have seen some units before where the hoses get rocks and pebels stuck in them some times causing a restriction before. Did you measure the flow across the condenser yet? I am sorry for possing the question again but I may have missed it in a post you have already put up. .

  6. #32
    Most of the dirt/debris has been caught by the inlet strainers upstream of the pump. There are no hoses; the unit is all hard piped on the water side the debris that was cleaned out of the condenser when I did the acid cleaning appeared to be slimy in texture. There was some sandy sediment that came out of the lines that made it past the inlet strainers, but nothing that could potentially clog the lines. The pressure drop across the condenser is approx. 10# with 60* ent. water and 90* leaving water. I believe I posted all of these numbers in my original post. According to my flow meter, we are moving approx. 7.6gpm. The unit requires 3gpm/ton, and this is only a 1.5 ton unit (quick math tells me that it should only need 4.5 gpm).

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    28
    Fair enough, but i do have a problem with the entering water temp at 60 and the leaving water temp at 90. To me that seems like a very large temperature rise across the condenser, usually should only be around 10 degrees.

  8. #34
    You're forgetting about the head pressure control...restricts the water flow to maintain head pressure...

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Put a glob of vasoline on the top of the entering water line about 6" from Cond. and run it. If its still there after it trips hot water is not the problem look at your regulating valve. BTW what is your HP cut out set at?

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,131
    I never heard of the vasoline trick. Sounds kinky.
    You need to put the phone down and get back to work!

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    103

    Hmm

    30* pick up is really high, sounds as if you are not getting enough flow. this would also cause your high pressure due to not getting the proper cooling in condenser. Have you tried descaler in condenser water loop.
    Last edited by Abrnth3; 03-29-2013 at 01:07 PM. Reason: spell check, info

  12. #38
    Quote Originally Posted by Isaac3384 View Post
    You're forgetting about the head pressure control...restricts the water flow to maintain head pressure...
    As the entering water temp increases, the temp difference decreases...at 85 degree entering water, we have approx a 10-12 degree split...

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Where did the 85 degree entering water come from? Thought you had 60 degree entering water.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event