Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New apprentice: Work fast or take time to learn?

Hello all,

I've almost completed my first year as an apprentice with a commercial HVAC company. I have no prior experience, and absolutely LOVE the amount of things there are to learn in this industry. I'm constantly being given new responsibilities that force me to read and learn new things. But I always feel the pull of 1) wanting to get the job done in a timely manner to keep my boss/coworkers happy, while 2) taking my time to learn everything to the fullest extent. Any of you remember going through this at the beginning (or now)?

We keep learning everyday, so once you learn one thing it opens up 4 more doors. There is a line you have to walk, get the job done but it's also got to work, you learn fast when you have to do it twice.

Simply put, ya gotta do both. If you have a supervisor you work directly with, ask them plainly what their expectations are for the task they've given you. It may take you longer 'cause you're new, but it'll help you get a gauge on how long it should take to get things done. Try to focus on quality work that doesn't create unnecessary service calls for others. Think creatively and use common sense. Learn them backwards and forwards, but don't get rigidly caught up in textbooks. Read HVAC-Talk diligently (I am 100% serious on this one).

OJT is valuable, but don't abuse it. I volunteered some time when I was starting out. I offered to go help off the clock on the big jobs that I had never done before just to get the exposure. I'm not saying that's what you should do, or even that it's right. All I'm saying is that's what it took for me. Your results may vary.
    "There is no greater inequality than the equal treatment of unequals."

-Thomas Jefferson

Quote Originally Posted by Tech Rob View Post
    I offered to go help off the clock on the big jobs that I had never done before just to get the exposure.