Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    146

    Help with picking a new meter

    I need a new ampmeter. Mine is just worn out and want to upgrade. Ive spent a good amount of time looking and pricing. Any suggestions? I would like to have 1 meter that will do it all. Microfarads and microamps are features I am looking for. What are you guys using? Also aside from checking with local suppliers, anyone order from online? Not sure which sites are trustworthy. Thanks for any input helping me out here. K

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    ____________________________________________
    If you don't know what you are doing.... ASK!! There is no such thing as a "Stupid" question.... Maybe.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,889
    i have a fieldpeice sc76 and a sc77 been using the sc76 for years they do all most service techs need
    We really need change now

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Haven, Indiana
    Posts
    37
    Yeah, Fieldpiece SC77 is the one most are techs are using. Haven't had any problems with them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    790
    I have the Fieldpiece SC56 and love it.

    Only down fall in my opinion is where they placed the inrush button
    The opinions expressed by me are not that of my employer.


    insulation modern marvels
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g37riSkyZzM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Urbandale IA. USA
    Posts
    4,962
    I am using a Fluke. Don't remember the model number, but it will measure MICRO-AMPS and of course amps using the clamp feature.
    I really like it.
    .
    Those who dance, appear insane to those who do not hear the music.
    Those who believe, appear ignorant to those who do not know God.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    146
    I really like fieldpiece a lot. Can you buy the interchangable heads for the sc76/77?

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    ____________________________________________
    If you don't know what you are doing.... ASK!! There is no such thing as a "Stupid" question.... Maybe.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Get a fieldpiece SC56.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cayuga, In
    Posts
    56
    I really like the fieldpeice hs36.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    32
    I use the fieldpiece sc76. I've had it about 7 years and it has not always been treated the best but it still works great. I just orders a couple accessory heads for it last moth from pexsupply.com. They seemed trustworthy, good prices and shipped pretty fast.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,140
    If you don't have a problem with chinese production, the Fluke 902 is a good one. However, it will only measure up to 9,999 ohms. Anything greater than that, it will show you OL.

    The preferred, but much more expensive way to go would be with a Fluke 87/28/289 with an amp-clamp accessory.
    The key to happiness is lower expectations.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    146
    I really like sc56 features a lot. I like the in rush feature and the light around the jaw. The swivel head isnt a big deal for me, but I guess its a nice feature. I really like the dual display on the 56.

    Nothing against fluke. I have a fluke 16 that Ive had for about ten years that I still use regurlarly. I just like that you can buy the interchangeable heads for the fieldpiece and do everything from one meter.



    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    ____________________________________________
    If you don't know what you are doing.... ASK!! There is no such thing as a "Stupid" question.... Maybe.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    I like my hs36, which is currently hanging of an electrical panel in a pool pump room and the customer won't return my call WTF.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    A few weeks ago I was in the same predicament .. ended up going with the sc56. I like it so far

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event