Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47

    Amana AMH95 (Propane) Gas Furnace

    I am having this unit installed in my house tomorrow.
    It is replacing a Carrier Weathermaker 8000 that has leaky heat exchange tubes.

    Does anyone know if this furnace requires a two-stage thermostat?

    Also, currently my furnace only has a 1" filter. If I choose to add a 4"-5" pleated filter, are there any issues I need to be aware when making this chnage to existing ductwork?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    6,327
    Two stage stat is not needed and will not work with this furnace. The unit utilizes an algorithm to determine run time for first stage. The only problem would be height clearance if it is an up flow unit and static pressure. Static pressure will be dependent on your supply and return ductwork.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    WYO
    Posts
    2,019
    Last edited by contactor; 01-23-2007 at 10:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    WYO
    Posts
    2,019
    2 stg stat not required. You may need room in between furnace and return drop for a larger filter. Depends where its located. Infom the installer or Co 1st.
    never say never

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    What is static pressure?
    What do I need to be aware of as it relates to the filter size?

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    125
    high efficiency air cleaner...definately. your amana dealer should have some good options for you. you wont regret the decision.
    oh yeah, these guys are correct about the 2-stage feature.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    S. Wis
    Posts
    46
    There are three types of pressure in your ductwork; static presure, velocity pressure, and total pressure. Static pressure is the kind of pressure that keeps a balloon inflated once you blow it up.
    The more media your filter has (1" vs 4") the more pressure drop across your filter. If you increase the size of your filter you may need to increase airflow to compensate for it so the heat exchanger can still have the proper amount of air moving across it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event