Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

an Inconvenient truth

Blown away by this movie.
    I consider myself a skeptic in almost every aspect until I have heard both sides of the argument. I was under the opinion that humans could not be the only reason for "global warming" and that the recent changes ALL of us have seen around the world were cyclical. Now I am not on the band wagon as of yet but I must admit that the movie Al Gore has put together is VERY convincing. I am doing things right now to help that were not based on fighting climate change such as recycling ect. I was doing them because its the right thing to do and waste is an evil plaguing modern civilizations. How many of you have seen this movie? what do you think of the ideas and statistics in the movie?

I sat back after the movie (and during the movie as well) and thought about the job I do for a living. Now I dont think that we are part of the problem, Humans in the modern world NEED refrigeration and in some cases NEED A/C. Heat is a necessity almost everywhere you travel. What can we do as a trade to do our part? I am a Refrigeration mechanic so I think about the practical and economical ways to do my part. I have been working on trying to improve efficiency to the Racks we have with better setup and maintenance. What else can be done to help?

What has to happen in order to change the will of the political environment around the world regarding this time of needed change... I personally feel despair when I think about what REALLY dictates the role of government, Business. Specifically the companies with the most amount of push or pull are the energy companies and industry that has the most to "lose" in regards to the changes needed.....
    "I'm really easy to get along with once you people learn to see it my way."

"I'll try being nicer if you'll try being smarter."