Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Confused Do installers always have helpers? Thinking about switching to res. installation

PLEASE answer ASAP. and THANK YOU for answering.

Hey, I am currently a service technician. I am thinking about switching to residential installation.
    Do installers always have helpers?

It gets kinda lonely when i am doing service work, and I think it would be better to do installation, if there's one extra person to help or talk to...

I have already spoke to my boss about it, and he was talking about "teams". But I was talking to someone else and they said installers pretty much go on their own.

My boss did as well say after I learn it, it will be easy to make $20 an hour...

All during school my teachers said during residential installations there's always at least 2 people.

I remember when we had our furnace and A/C replaced they had a crew of people at the house, i dont remember how many.

So will I always be with someone even as a "journeyman" or even a "lead installer" or do residential installers typically go by themselves with occasional helpers?

Depends on what you are installing. Most equipment is to heavy to move by yourself, so if you don't get a helper I would not even think of taking the job. The company I used to work for always sent at least two sometimes three depending on the job

Ride and work with a Bible Thumper for a week and you will beg to work alone!

Quote Originally Posted by PapaFuse View Post
    amen to that. it depends on who you get to work with. our company has gone through its share of talks to much, thiefs, lazy, dumba**es and anything else you can imagine. luckily one thing my boss looks at is how all of the employees get along. the 2 installers under me are really nice to work with and we have all become friends outside of work. so to answer your question yes you would usually have a helper but just remember it aint always a good thing.