REVIEW: Digi-Cool AK900 digital gauges - Page 4
Page 4 of 37 FirstFirst 123456789101114 ... LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 474
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,314
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac wiz 79 View Post
    Looks like a dc to me

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
    It is a DRSA 1200 (possibly a 1250 if the conversion kit was installed) with a YJ faceplate.

  2. #41
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    2,820
    A very small amount of ingenuity and about $15 can mod your stretchy velcro sensors to small bar clamps that can fit on 1/4" lines.

    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362800181.677689.jpg
Views: 703
Size:  70.5 KB

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    297
    Hey Brent, welcome to the Digi-cool club.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,031
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    You have an opposing viewpoint on an instrument that you have no experience with?

    You didn't make any statement about the instrument or point out anything factual or incorrect about the review itself, you just dismissed the entire review as "sugary" implying that Brent made a biased review of the instrument.

    Yet, on his other thread reviewing the SMAN, you posted;




    Actually, re-reading that thread (which you'll notice that I made no Pro-DC comments in) I'm waiting with bated breath your your various reviews.
    He can't help himself, it's a family tradition

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,460
    Brent, Thanks for taking the time for doing another well done review.

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    I want a couple of AK900's, just because they display everything on the same screen, but I'd probably mod it to use Cooper thermistors, like I did my 1250.

    With the addition of the SMAN3 I won at the SWRA RSES conference, I've got 5 working DRSAs though, including Digi-Cool BTD-1000, DRSA-1250, Testo 550, and 1st generation 523, so I'm out of the market for a while.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    5,973
    Are the Cooper sensors that much better mark?

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    20,760
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacrmedic View Post
    Regardless,

    Attachment 363421[
    This is the one I bought back in the Spring of 2007... then did the 1250 upgrade in 2010. Doug was kind enough to send me the DigiCool faceplate... so I did not have to look at the name YJ anymore... <grin>

    IMO the quality of this tool is better than most of what YJ makes... putting the name YJ on a DC is kinda like putting a Mercedes or Lexus label on an economy car...

    Now the Titan 2 manifold needs some work with the valves... however once one gets used to it... it is not that bad... not that good either.

    I wish Doug had done the DC with the standard 4" spread... I really do not like the offsets to mount the unit on a different manifold.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by SBKold View Post
    Are the Cooper sensors that much better mark?
    The sensor portion has extremely low thermal mass, so has a very fast response time. Not as fast as the ribbon thermocouples used in Fluke 80PK-8 pipe clamps, but MUCH faster than the standard DC or Testo thermistors.
    The response time is on par with a PT100 thermistor.
    The 4011 pipe wrap probe's sensor has some insulation behind it, and a good thermal break between the sensor and the body of the probe, so is not as subject to ambient conditions as the DC and Testo pipe probes.
    The probe and sensor shares some design similarities with the platinum based PT100 pipe wrap probe that came with my 1st generation Testo 523, which IMO is the very best pipe temperature probe produced by any test instrument manufacturer ever, period. It's to bad Testo shelved the design.
    I also like that it doesn't use velcro, time will tell on how well the elastic material holds up.
    I may try the cooper clamp probes now that I've gotten verification that they use the same sensor setup as the pipe wrap probes, but the clamps are about $100 each vs the $50 each for the pipe wraps.
    But hey, I used to buy at least one new Fluke 80PK-8 clamp a year, at $120 a pop, so it's still cheaper, and much more accurate.

    I just wish there was a way to make the cooper clamps work with my Testo 550, but they use a proprietary thermistor.
    Of course now that I'm nearly completely transitioned from thermocouples to thermistors, I have a new SMAN3 land in my lap...
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,292
    Quote Originally Posted by ga-hvac-tech View Post

    putting the name YJ on a DC is kinda like putting a Mercedes or Lexus label on an economy car...
    I don't think what you said is what you meant.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    I want a couple of AK900's, just because they display everything on the same screen, but I'd probably mod it to use Cooper thermistors, like I did my 1250.

    With the addition of the SMAN3 I won at the SWRA RSES conference, I've got 5 working DRSAs though, including Digi-Cool BTD-1000, DRSA-1250, Testo 550, and 1st generation 523, so I'm out of the market for a while.
    But what ones do you use (like) most often.

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,460
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    I also like that it doesn't use velcro, time will tell on how well the elastic material holds up.
    Mark I've worn out a 4011 band from heavy use in one size range and if don't need it for large pipe all the time I just pulled the band through a little and tied a knot as the stopper so it grabs a fresh spot in the band
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,990
    Cooper sells replacement elastic straps for their pipe thermistors. I got them from united and they were cheap. I think it came in a 6 pack.
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

Page 4 of 37 FirstFirst 123456789101114 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event