Trane Tracer ZN521 Controller to a BMTW BCU
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    768

    Trane Tracer ZN521 Controller to a BMTW BCU

    I have a existing job that has a Trane Tracer Summit System with 2 Comm 4 Links for VAV boxes, and a Comm 3 Link for PCMs and a Chiller. A contractor just installed a AHU without any controls on it. They ended up hacking the whole install and nothing is working right. I saw the wiring diagram for this AHU/Blower Coil Unit had a ZN520-ZN521 on it. I called Trane and they priced me up all of the necessary controls for this AHU. I am wanting to network this device into the existing BCU. I know that this controller is a Comm 5 controller. I looked at the BCU and I saw that link 4 isn't in use. So I know I can configure it for a Comm 5 link. I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to run into any problem trying to network this controller in. I believe this BCU is a BMTW with a version 12 or 13 image/software. Will I be able to use this controller with this BCU? Do you guys have any helpful tips on bringing one of this controllers into a BCU? I haven't had to do this yet. I would think it would be as easy as discovering the device and assigning the neuron ID, but I am not sure.

    Thanks!
    J. King

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    95
    Since nothing else is comm-5 (Lontalk) on the site, the BCU probably does not have a Comm-5 board installed.

    Get one of those, then you should have no problem withe the ZN controller.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    768
    Quote Originally Posted by t-reck View Post
    Since nothing else is comm-5 (Lontalk) on the site, the BCU probably does not have a Comm-5 board installed.

    Get one of those, then you should have no problem withe the ZN controller.
    Does this board install near the link that I will be setting up for Comm 5? I already assigned link 4 to Comm 5 to prepare for when the controller comes in. Does the BCU wiring diagram on the cover show where the Comm 5 card goes?

    Do you happen to have a part number for this board?

    Thanks a lot for your reply.
    J. King

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    95
    There are 4 slots for comm modules, you already have 3 installed. The Comm-5 board will go into the last one available.

    I believe the part # is BRD-01670 but it may have been superseded by newer numbers. The local Trane office could verify that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    768
    Quote Originally Posted by t-reck View Post
    There are 4 slots for comm modules, you already have 3 installed. The Comm-5 board will go into the last one available.

    I believe the part # is BRD-01670 but it may have been superseded by newer numbers. The local Trane office could verify that.
    When I was talking to Trane about adding this Comm 5 card to the BCU. They asked me if the BCU had a high capacity card or not? I am not sure what card they are talking about? I was also wondering if a high capacity card is required to add this Comm 5 card?

    Thanks
    J. King

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    95
    If the size of the system is not very large then you don't need the high capacity card. The high capacity card adds some stability to the Lon but you should be fine without it.

    Since you're only adding 1 device, don't worry about it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boulder,CO.
    Posts
    552
    At minimum I would make the system v16 sp8 preferably v17 sp11 you will need a computer w/ winxp pro or newer, lon board@(BCU), zn520, wire commissioing and assigned to bcu should take 10 minutes. lol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    249
    What controldude said, you'll want to upgrade to at least v16 summit, if not v17. The high capacity card is not necessary, just recommended when adding Lon to the BMTW. Someone (with Rover Lontalk) will have to configure the ZN521. You'll want to ensure that you have a discharge air temperature sensor, but if the local Trane guys are designing the system they should have it covered.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event