Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Noisy York Furnace sounds like New York

    I had my old gas furnance replaced today, which was about 21 years old, and due for replacement. It was replaced with a York Affinity single stage gas furnace, model #PV9B12N080UP11, 92% efficiency.

    This unit is LOUD, much more so compared to my old 80% unit. When the unit turns on, I hear a loud "wooshing" through my vents. The advertising for this unit says its supposed to be "quiet".

    Can anyone offer any thoughts as to why this may be so loud?

    Many thanks in advance...

    Ebachenh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pa.
    Posts
    383
    Have the company who installed your furnace come back out to make sure it is set up correctly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    If the duct system was correctly sized for the old furnace, and the new furnace is the same or greater heating capacity, you likely need some changes to your duct system.
    Modern furnaces move more air for the same heating capacity than older furnaces, as much as 50% more airflow for the same heating output.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  4. #4

    feel your pain

    just wonder if your furnace is still loud. I just had a york affinity 8.s installed. now my house is like a factory. Installer came in 8 times, couldn't fix it. York technician claimed everything works fine. If that is the case, they need to re-evaluate the product design. Or they should warn their customer about this. So annoyed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,134
    Undersized duct.

    Don't blame the furnace. It's only noisy because of the duct to which it is connected.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  6. #6
    So is it the installer's job to inspect the ductwork?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,826
    Quote Originally Posted by I_want__quiet View Post
    So is it the installer's job to inspect the ductwork?
    No, my guess would be it was the person that sold you the job.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,134
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    No, my guess would be it was the person that sold you the job.
    I have that discussion with salesmen quite frequently. They always tell me that they don't have time. I say BS. You can let the folks look at your equipment brochures while you drill a couple of holes and measure ESP. It takes less than 15 minutes to evaluate the duct system.

    You're selling comfort systems...not boxes!
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  9. #9
    thank you

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Quote Originally Posted by jrbenny View Post
    I have that discussion with salesmen quite frequently. They always tell me that they don't have time. I say BS. You can let the folks look at your equipment brochures while you drill a couple of holes and measure ESP. It takes less than 15 minutes to evaluate the duct system.

    You're selling comfort systems...not boxes!
    Hard to get salesmen to check the static.We have found that if they don't, they get to share the cost to make the duct changes,works real well.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    58
    PV9B12N080UP11 - isn't this a two stage variable speed furnace?
    http://www.yorkupg.com/PDFFiles/036-...001-B-1004.pdf

    Is the thermostat setup for two stage heating? What type of stat do you have?

    The heating and the cooling airflows are preset at the factory. The heating airflow is set to the maximum CFM. Did your installer make any adjustments?

    What did your installer say when you complained about the noise?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,726
    The PV9 is a 2 stage VS furnace.

    As others have posted. Sounds like the installer put in the same size furnace. And gave no consideration to the duct system, or if that was the right size furnace.

    The 80,000btu 3 ton drive model can have the blower slowed down 1100 CFM, and still have room for the air filter to load up.

    As a test. Have your contract slow the blower. And if he has second stage running off the timer, have him set it to 20 minutes.
    See if its quieter then.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    18951
    Posts
    1,593
    Quote Originally Posted by I_want__quiet View Post
    just wonder if your furnace is still loud. I just had a york affinity 8.s installed. now my house is like a factory. Installer came in 8 times, couldn't fix it. York technician claimed everything works fine. If that is the case, they need to re-evaluate the product design. Or they should warn their customer about this. So annoyed.
    Unless both of them were idiots (which I highly doubt), they both knew that your problem was the duct work and air flow.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event