Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 31
  1. #1

    Service Guy needs help with a small new install...

    I am a service and repair based company and looking to do a small new install duct/unit etc... The house is 1k sqft and we are putting a 2.5 ton on the house but i need help with the load calcs and the duct sizing... any help would be greatly appreciated... Thanks!!

  2. #2
    we are looking to add 8 registers total and use all flex ducting... thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    463
    Try Manual J & Manual D

  4. #4
    ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    nebraska
    Posts
    1,629
    That's a lot of tonnage for 1000 square feet. Most of the homes around mine are that size and a 1.5 ton keeps them cool until it gets over 100 outside. These are cheaply built 60 year old homes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,183
    What area you in?

    I'm at 1300 square feet of 1950's block wall construction, and a crappy roof design.

    2.5 ton, and it's oversized, for the cincinnati area.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,981
    I always liked Dirty Harry movies and when I read this post....what comes to mind is....From Magnum Force....

    "A man has got to know his limitations"

    Everyone has to start somewhere and it sounds like a crash course in Manual J,D,T,S is required.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,302
    only 8 registers ? So you're oversizing the unit , and going to starve it for air as well ... hmm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    28
    2.5 tons is way overkill for a place that size.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    69
    You're about a ton over what you need unless the house has 20 foot ceilings or is missing an exterior wall

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sacramento,ca
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisHVAC25 View Post
    ?
    this is the best part of his reply. this says it all!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Highland Park, CA
    Posts
    87
    How did you decide on the tonnage and number of registers without doing any calculations?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,720
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisHVAC25 View Post
    I am a service and repair based company and looking to do a small new install duct/unit etc... The house is 1k sqft and we are putting a 2.5 ton on the house but i need help with the load calcs and the duct sizing... any help would be greatly appreciated... Thanks!!
    Translation; I am a diyer posing as a hvac tech and I am not doing a very good job of it.
    My name is TooCoolforschool and I am a chronic over charger.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event