Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 32 of 32
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sonora, California, United States
    Posts
    1,061
    I just had a pressure switch stuck yesterday, wasnt stuck when I got there but system locked out, checked hoses and hole into flue, obstructions of flue, tied in a 1/4 inch tee and cycled inducer and pressure switch 20 times and nothing. we where there almost a year ago for the same problem. I changed it out. if I got to go back for the same thing probably lean strongly toward board.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sonora, California, United States
    Posts
    1,061
    Quote Originally Posted by jacob-k View Post
    I just had a pressure switch stuck yesterday, wasnt stuck when I got there but system locked out, checked hoses and hole into flue, obstructions of flue, tied in a 1/4 inch tee and cycled inducer and pressure switch 20 times and nothing. we where there almost a year ago for the same problem. I changed it out. if I got to go back for the same thing probably lean strongly toward board.

    probably should add this was on a 80% so no condensate problems possible.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    390
    Heres a question for you guys. If I have a bad p/s but don't have the exact one o hand.. is it better/ok to install a higher or lowrr rated one temporarily?
    IE: have a 1.74" and install a 1.52" as a temp to get them through.
    Also on that idea. A single to replace a dual.
    Something that has crossed my mind as we only currently carry two p/s on the truck. One single and one dual I believe. And they re not universal.
    Thanks.

    Sent from my GSIII on Tapatalk

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,491
    Quote Originally Posted by DeHeatify View Post
    Heres a question for you guys. If I have a bad p/s but don't have the exact one o hand.. is it better/ok to install a higher or lowrr rated one temporarily?
    IE: have a 1.74" and install a 1.52" as a temp to get them through.
    Also on that idea. A single to replace a dual.
    Something that has crossed my mind as we only currently carry two p/s on the truck. One single and one dual I believe. And they re not universal.
    Thanks.

    Sent from my GSIII on Tapatalk
    I'd go slightly higher and only for a night or weekend. I can't see the harm if you temporarily put in a switch that is rated above the old one if it will close. Never lower.

    Every furnace I've ever measured was pulling about twice as much as the switch is rated for. Carrier doesn't put the specs on their switches so I just determine what the inducer is pulling, and what it takes to close the existing switch and go somewhere in the middle. Any misgivings about it call the supply house and get specs. Or don't do it if it's mild out. I keep a selection of used, good switches at .3, .47, .6 etc up to 1.1. But I still rarely do it if there is time left in the work week.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    390
    Good to know. Thanks.

    Sent from my GSIII on Tapatalk

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sonora, California, United States
    Posts
    1,061
    I would like to know about using a single to replace a dual temporarily as well.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event