Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5

    Heil Rectifier How to test, and its function?

    Heil Electric Furnace
    M#FSA2X2411A
    S#A061872407

    Service call no heat.

    We follow the power and turn it on and it works! So a lose connection somewhere.

    While we were following the power we came across a rectifier and we really had no idea what it's doing there?

    The wiring diagram only showed low voltage going through the rectifier even though the high voltage was going through it.

    We talked to a few people. One suggested the board may be using DC volts hence the use of the rectifier. Another said they are just a extra piece that you possibly really don't need. Yet another said just buy a new one if u have any problems they are only $$$.

    So replacing it is a simple solution BUT

    How would one go about testing it?
    What exactly is it for/Why is it there?
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 02-13-2013 at 07:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,916
    :0 You sure this was a "service call"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    My bad, diagnostic. Call it what you will. The heat was not working when we showed up and it was when we left.

    So you have no clue on the rectifier??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,990
    I'm not 100% on your unit.

    I have seen 2 scenarios

    1. board will send 24vac to relay which rectifies to 22vdc and energizes relay.
    2. board sends 22vdc to a dc coil relay.

    I don't know why they do it. Maybe because it can be smaller? who knows.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,916
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    I'm not 100% on your unit.

    I have seen 2 scenarios

    1. board will send 24vac to relay which rectifies to 22vdc and energizes relay.
    2. board sends 22vdc to a dc coil relay.

    I don't know why they do it. Maybe because it can be smaller? who knows.
    It's just an apartment cheapo electric airhandler....it doesn't have a "rectifier" anybody on a "service call" that can't figure that out shouldn't be on a service call.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Columbia, Mo GO, TIGERS
    Posts
    899
    what would you have him do then, Einsteinshvac-----up and QUIT?

    well, yeah, I know, if it is good enough for the Pope....

    Somebody quick call ICP, they got an unfortunate misprint right on the Heil wiring diagram showing a "REC" which Legend claims stands for "Rectifier", which gets 24VAC & sends 22VDC to the control coil of the relay for switching on the heat strips. But we know better.

    Now as far as troubleshooting I would invoke the old saw that if a component is receiving the proper input and yet fails to provide the proper output...you know the rest.

    Or else you should not be walking in the park, or barefoot on the sand, or on hot coals, or reproduce. Just to be on the safe side. Oh! Or fix furnaces. Almost forgot. Yep, definitely not. Positively negative.
    Pg. 324: "the powers of financial capitalism had another far-reaching aim, nothing less than to create a world system of financial control in private hands able to dominate the political system of each country and the economy of the world as a whole. This system was to be controlled in a feudalist fashion by the central banks of the world acting in concert, by secret agreements arrived at in frequent private meetings and conferences."
    Tragedy & Hope, by Carroll Quigley

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    that rectifier is a big turd, all it does is provide dc voltage to the relay coil, most all I've seen were in the melting stage.
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,113
    Quote Originally Posted by beshvac View Post
    It's just an apartment cheapo electric airhandler....it doesn't have a "rectifier" anybody on a "service call" that can't figure that out shouldn't be on a service call.
    And it wouldn't be the only cheap air handler that had a rectifier in it. Carrier did that for quite a while.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,916
    My mistake

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    Final conclusion:
    Low voltage AC being changed to DC for the board.
    High voltage on a relay in the same part.

    Thank you all have a great day!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    the ones I've run across will unplug from the relay.
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,296
    Quote Originally Posted by dandyme View Post
    the ones I've run across will unplug from the relay.
    +1, I have seen them used in Goodman air handlers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event